We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in! Very nice rooms, nice pool area, and right on the beach! Beautiful view of sunrise from our balcony facing the beach and beautiful view of the sunset from our front door/hallway overlooking the harbor. We brought our own beach chairs but otherwise they sell chairs on the beach.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank 617JG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear 617JG123,

We are happy you enjoyed your visit here at Shell Island Resort. We are in complete agreement that the sunrises on the beach and the sunsets along the marsh are the best in the country. I hope that you can come back soon to enjoy the quiet and clean beach which is perfect for a romantic weekend or a quick family getaway.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a great girls weekend at Shell Island Resort, the view was absolutely beautiful, the beach was quiet, clean and beautiful. Jamie was great at the front desk, he answered all our questions about the local places to visit. Our room was large, with yahoo, 2 private bathrooms! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: top floor, not sure if there is a bad room in the place but we stayed on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debcer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear debcer5,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Shell Island Resort. We could not agree more that the resort has a pristine location on the beach with gorgeous views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balconies of the rooms. Jamie is a great addition to our team and I am pleased that he was helpful in your search for local places to visit. We hope to see you again at Wrightsville Beach soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Shell Island Hotel for a conference the week of October 15-18 and had a wonderful time! Meredith the hotel manager was very accommodating,helpful and did all she could to meet the requests of our group. George who assisted with conference room set-ups and food service preparations throughout our stay was very professional, courteous and also very accommodating to our needs and requests! All of the staff were very friendly and courteous!

Room Tip: The higher level rooms obviously maximize the ocean view but all of the rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Eric C.

Thank you for staying with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I am happy to hear that Meredith and George were very helpful and accommodating to your requests. Shell Island Resort is happy to have the two of them on our team. As guest service is our number one priority, I am especially happy that the staff was courteous and friendly to you. We would love to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I just returned from a large conference that included hotel stay, meeting rooms, meals and vendors interaction. I must say as president of this organization stress for me was at a high level. I quickly realized that one of the staff members George stayed two steps ahead of me, he had everything that we ask for ahead of time plus things we didn't think of. All the staff acted like they were glad to be there always smiling and kind. Thanks a bunch to all the folks at Shell Island for making this conference a great one! In our business meeting we unanimously voted to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Tim S.

We appreciate your organization staying with us and are pleased that everything went well. George is the best at what he does and he has been giving great guest service for seven years with us. We are truly happy to have him on our team. I also pleased that the hotel staff was good to you as we pride ourselves on our guest service. Please think of us again the next time the beach beckons and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about Shell Island, Meredith, George, and the entire staff. So helpful, accommodating, easy to work with, great vendor lists to help with music, flowers, etc. The oceanfront setting was perfect for our wedding, the food was delicious, and every request was met with quick response. Our guests were very pleased with the oceanfront accommodations also - some had never been to Shell Island and immediately understood why we love the place.

Room Tip: All are suites with one bedroom (two beds or a king), living/dining/kitchen (well equipped), ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear L Y,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are happy that you could spend that special day at our resort. Meredith and George have had a passion for helping guests for many years and their efforts shine through their work. I am pleased that they were able to take care of your party. Shell Island has a great location at the north end of the island and we invite your family to come back again and enjoy the beautiful views the next time that you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Simmone H. @ priceline.com was a great help in finding this quality hotel at a fair price. Once booked, I got the dreaded phone call they have overbooked the standard room. Iverson at the other end of the phone call came through for us and Chris the night manager ok'd an upgraded room for the same price. Thank You all.
From check in to departure was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Sure it's dated like other reviewers has mentioned, but put that aside and enjoy the ride.
We had 2 trips to The Oceanic restaurant we like the atmosphere so much, and one stop at the Shucker's restaurant. Both highly recommended.
The pool is nice to relax outside, and every room has that view, and that sound..the ocean!!
We had one nice buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was yummy. Great coffee. Really nice staff. After that, a walk on that clean spacious beach.
Everything, and I mean everything needed was in our room. I would've stayed a week if I could, but just timed it right with the weather. Starting to get cool now. Love these October deals at the coast.
We'll be back and recommend the Shell Island Resort Hotel in Wrightsville beach to everyone.

Room Tip: Get room on the 8th or 9th floor towards the stairs. Perfect and quiet. Forget the hotel restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear John K,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. As you are aware, Shell Island Resort has the best location on Wrightsville beach with beautiful Atlantic Ocean views from the balconies of the rooms. I am pleased that the breakfast buffet was delicious and that the hotel staff took good care of you. We pride ourselves on our guest service! We have more great deals coming up this offseason so please think of us again when you are in the Wrightsville Beach area. We look forward to seeing your family again!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been coming to Shell Island Resort for our Fall Conference for many years. George has been in charge of set up for our conference room for several years. W are always impressed with his level of service. He is always friendly, accommodating and quick to attend to any last minute needs we may have. I always look forward to seeing George every year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 847MPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear 874MPorter,

It was a pleasure to have your organization here at Shell Island Resort. We agree that George is one of the best. His passion, energy and commitment to our guests show in the way of his providing the highest level of service. Please think of us again, not only for business, but when a beach vacation calls you away from home!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $124 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing