We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 NCHAP Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Shell Island Resort was a wonderful venue to hold our conference! Meredith was extremely accomodating with our requests and George was fantastic with the room set up, the opening/closing of the room divider and the multiple food servings throughout the day. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were nice/clean and the organization/flow was impeccable. I would highly recommend this venue for a conference/trade show!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juli_flasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear juli_flasker,

We appreciate your group staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your visit at Shell Island Resort. Our facility has the best conference rooms on Wrightsville Beach (ocean views included) and we agree that George and Meredith are outstanding in what they do. Please think of us again the next time you are in the area, be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had an excellent stay here. The resort grounds are fantastic and the beach is beautiful and serene. The staff was extremely friendly and the rental bikes were great -- all you need to get around Wrightsville beach. Love that ALL the rooms have ocean views and balconies facing the ocean. No paying a bunch more if you want an "ocean view". Each room is basically a small 1 bedroom condo with everything you could want. Some are more renovated than others, apparently, but the one we got had excellent new beds, TVs, etc. Nice little bar and restaurant, plus a small pantry store where you could pick up little things you might need like toiletries, drinks for your room, etc. Nothing over-the-top fancy resort wise but pristine and just the right speed for a stay at Wrightsville Beach.

From now on, this will be the only place we stay in Wilmington. We liked it that much.

Room Tip: If they are not full, ask if you can see the room you are going to get (or a couple of options). Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atxflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear atxflyer,

Thank you for your business. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We could not agree more that we have one of the best beach views on Wrightsville Beach from the room balconies. As guest service is our top priority here at Shell Island Resort, I am pleased that the staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to your next stay and we are honored to be your hotel of choice on the beach.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

All of our expectations were met and exceeded! Our suite was perfect as was our amazing view from our balcony. All accommodations were clean, comfortable, and convenient! The beach was large, soft, and not crowded. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had everything we needed and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear drtimc,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at Shell Island and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We agree that the views of the Atlantic Ocean are spectacular from the rooms. Since we pride ourselves on our guest service, so I am also pleased that the staff was friendly and helpful and were able to attend to your needs. We look forward to your next getaway here at Shell Island Resort and Wrightsville Beach!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If your only concern is location, this is the place for you. Not what we expected for a "Resort". Due to reading about how hot and cold rooms were online, we paid more to get an updated room. Believe me, that was a stretch. Poor quality of upgrades, our bedspread had fresh blood stains on the underside and there was blood stained Kleenex on the balcony. Instead of replacing the blood stained bedspread, they just washed it and returned it. Returned to the room at 5 PM one day to find our room had not been cleaned, towels still on floor. The man in charge of housekeeping was nice and concerned, the rest of the staff seemed very disinterested. And you can get a USA today at the front dest, for $.50, really. That really says high end, I mean cheap. Wiireless network also went out for about a day. This place needs a major upgrade to match is wonderful location.

Room Tip: Well, I can tell you paying more for the "premium" room did not work. I guess you just ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Greg R.

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We agree that Shell Island Resort has a great location. In the off season there will be a major renovation that will focus on the rooms being upgraded. I apologize that you did not enjoy your visit with us. If you find yourself back in Wrightsville Beach again, please give me a call at 910-256-8696 and I will ensure that you get a room that exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I feel as if the staff with the exception of the night barmaid others made us feel as if we were a bother to them. Stayed four nights one late afternnon around 4pm had to call desk to ask for room service. Room was generally not cleaned very well as I have experienced in other properties. Can't believe that you can't even get a free cup of coffee considering what we paid each night to stay there. Staff didnt go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Food on the expensive side and wasn't anything to brag about...food not very good. The wireless network kept going out at night and not restored until morning extremely annoying. Would not ever go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Nance W.

We appreciate you staying with us. I am happy that the nighttime bartender was able to accommodate you and I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. If you find yourself back in the Wrightsville Beach area, please give me a call at 910-256-8696 and I will be sure that your visit will exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We chose this condo hotel for its location and were not disappointed. With a view of the ocean and beautiful wide beach from our balcony and a stunning salt marsh across the street, it was an idyllic setting, especially for the nature lovers that we are. Shell Island Resort is at the far north end of the island, close to the inlet, where we often walked to look for shorebirds. These one-bedroom units are individually owned, so I assume furnishings vary in quality and style, but ours was quite nicely done. The kitchenette provided all we needed for eating a leisurely breakfast while watching the sun rise. Everything met or exceeded our expectations, except that the carpeted, open exterior hallways were never vacuumed during out 3-day stay. Staff seemed very good, so we probably should have brought it to someone's attention. The lobby was spotless and quite lovely. Tap water had a most unappealing taste and odor, so it would have been nice to have provided a complimentary bottle of drinking water on arrival, rather than charging for it. Despite the minor quibbles, this is a great place to stay on beautiful Wrightsville Beach.

Room Tip: All ocean front, so good view from all rooms. Smallish, but adequate balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear PaulaAlexandria_VA

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you were able to explore the area and relax during your visit. There is an abundance of things to do from nature walks in the marsh to kayaking the Intercoastal Waterway. We agree that the views of the Atlantic Ocean are stunning from the balconies of the rooms and that we have the best location on the island! The next time you find yourself in need of a beach vacation, please think of Shell Island and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful accomodations, great food and the staff was very nice! This was our first time staying in Wrightsville Beach. Beautiful, clean beach, our room had an ocean view. We had such a fun, relaxing time and will most certainly come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RN-from-NC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear RN-from-NC2013,

Thank you for your business! We are glad that your family enjoyed staying here at Shell Island Resort. I couldn’t agree more that we have the quietest, most beautiful stretch of beach on the island and that the views of the Atlantic are terrific from the guest room balconies. We look forward to seeing you again at Shell Island and Wrightsville Beach the next time you visit!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $124 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing