We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I’m pretty partial to Wrightsville because I went to UNCW nearby but this is my favorite beach in NC and favorite place to stay when I come back! This hotel is a typical beach hotel – it’s what’s outside that counts because beach goers are typically spending all their time at the beach, not in their rooms… The rooms are a little run down but the views (all rooms offer ocean front balconies) cannot be beat on this island! Because the hotel is at the north side of the island, it offers a nice, quiet, family beach experience. Pool towels and multiple showers/hoses are offered if going in between the beach and pool.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view. Also not room related but you will probably need a car while s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenCityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear QueenCityTravels,

We are honored to be your favorite spot on the beach. Thank you for your loyalty to Shell Island. We agree that the views from the resort are marvelous and are second to none. One can truly feel like they are a world away here on our beach. The rooms will also be part of a major renovation project during the offseason. We will see you the next time you are in the Wrightsville Beach area!

Sincerely,
Kevin C
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this "resort" Sept 2013. Upon Arrival it was pretty nice. It is as the end of the road and somewhat secluded. The entry was nice, the covered parking was nice (very short); however when we opened our door to our "Suite" my wife actually laughed. The "suite" is a bedroom (very tight and cramped with two full beds). A full bathroom (bath,shower, toilet, sink,etc.) a second bathroom, toilet and sink), then a small living area (pull out couch), flat screen TV (best thing about the stay), and small kitchenette. The view was great, all rooms are right over the ocean. The bathroom was old, all the caulk around shower was black with mold, the ceilings are super low. The faucets were kind of corroded. The pull out couch was awful, but most are, but you could feel every single spring. The food was okay (6 out of 10). The pool was a joke. It is a large resort (300+ rooms and the pool is large enough for 50 room hotel). The indoor pool is kind of dated and small too. Now, the beach is nice. It is huge! There is so much sand and it is pretty soft. To top it all off, we had breakfast our last day and my kids got some chocolate milk and it was spoiled... par for the course.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewC536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Andrew C536,

Thank you for your feedback and comments about your stay. We agree that the views from our resort are spectacular as all 169 rooms face the Atlantic Ocean and have private balconies. During the off season, the rooms will be undergoing a renovation project. The next time you are in the Wrightsville Beach area, please call me at 910-256-8696 and I make sure that your room exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Facilities, customer service, responsiveness, environment are all top notch.

Great staff committed to making the experience exceptional.

The preparation by the staff and the ongoing atention to detail were spot on.

George is amazing.

We will continue to use the facility for our professional development activities.

Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Jim F,

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay here at Shell Island. We are pleased that your organization enjoyed the resort and its amenities. I am also glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and accommodating as guest services is our top priority. George truly has a passion for attending to our guest needs and has been consistently doing this for the past seven years. We are very fortunate to have him and I am glad he made the experience for you that much more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again, either as part of a conference or to just relax at the beach!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My spouse and I just spent two nights at this hotel as we were looking for an ocean front room. Our room was ocean front as long as you didn't look to the right where your only view was the hotel parking ramp (3 feet from our balcony). Additionally the bathroom door had been removed which made it difficult to sleep once my spouse decided to get up and take a shower. There were lights that we could never find the light switches for, the bathtub was streaked with gray and the carpet was pulling up in a few places. I was disappointed by the room but the beach was beautiful and we really appreciated the availability of chairs and umbrellas ($32 + tip). We also enjoyed a breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and found the quality and pricing acceptable. It seems that the lobby areas have been remodeled so one would hope that the rooms will be getting an upgrade in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will likely be more enjoyable for ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macsnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear macsnorkel,

Congratulations on your anniversary and we are very glad you were able to spend it with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the beach and the food in the restaurant. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the room you stayed in. In the off season, the rooms will be part of a major renovation project in time for next season. Please give me a call at 910-256-8656 when you visit Wrightsville Beach next and I will ensure that you get a room that exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent a few days at the resort while participating in a conference at the convention center in Wilmington. Beautiful beach and great views of the sound and the ocean. Location was perfect...trip into Wilmington was an easy drive. Wife and I stayed in the unit with two double beds. Plenty of room for two but might be a squeeze for any more. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spike3439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear spike3439,

We appreciated you staying with us at Shell Island! We agree that the resort has perfect views of the Atlantic Ocean and that the beach is beautiful. Here, guests can feel like they are secluded at the beach but still have the option of a quick drive to visit Historic Downtown Wilmington. I am also pleased that the Front Desk staff was courteous and helpful as our guests are our top priority! Please think of us again for business or pleasure and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Wrightsville Beach.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Always wanted to stay here but was too pricey until I found a special rate I could stomach. We stayed in a double suite on the 8th floor on the right side of the resort. The suite seemed about the size of a regular hotel room, but somehow they squeezed in a balcony, bedroom and living/dining area with a one wall kitchen and 1 1/2 baths between the BR & the LR. A little tight (@2.5 feet between the double beds & @2.5 feet between the end of the bed and the dresser & closet), but quite homey. The view of the beach is great & the balcony is a nice fit for 2 chairs + a small table. This is a condotel--suites are owned individually and managed by the resort. We stayed in an unrefurbished suite to save money. It was very nice. The decor was dated, but clean and furniture not threadbare in any way. In the LR there was a dining table that could seat 4 and an apartment-sized sleeper sofa. As other reviewers have mentioned, the views are spectacular, especially riding up in the glassed in elevator with an expansive view of the marsh and stepping out onto your floor & being hit by a wide view of the ocean. Well done. The location is wonderful--at the end of the island surrounded by the marsh on one side and the ocean with a wide beach and lots of dunes covered with sea oats. Makes you feel like you are at an NC beach in the old days before they became overbuilt & a different character from the rest of Wrightsville Beach which feels crowded. Being off-season, the beach itself was not crowded. People were fishing and seining in the marsh.
Cannot comment on the restaurant/bar except for breakfast, which was a hot & cold buffet with an omelet stand. The staff were exceptionally good-humored and attentive, as were desk staff. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: North side corner rooms are pricer but the view of both the beach and the marsh is probably worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalacticTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear GalacticTrotter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at the Shell Island Resort. I couldn’t agree more that our location is wonderful- at the end of the island, surrounded by the wide beach, sand dunes, and lots of sea oats. This off season the Resort will be doing a major room renovation to improve the quality of the suites. I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff as they work very hard to take care of all our guests needs. We look forward to your return trip to Shell Island!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a beautiful ocean view, with incredible sunsets. Romantic walks on the beach, which is just steps out the door, no worry about where to park because your car is already parked in the parking garage. You don't even have to lug chairs and umbrellas if you don't want to, as they are available for rent on the beach. The pool and spa are beautiful and Denise at the Tiki bar gives you service with a smile we loved her! Also, our favorite waitress at the very tasty resturant Hillary, who always gave us great service and stopped for a friendly word when she had time! There were some minor issues that could have used improvement in our room itself (like no door between master bath & bedroom), but with all the beauty and fun outdoors, we were hardly ever in our room, except for showers, changing & sleep, and the bed was VERY comfortable! The houskeeping staff was wonderful as well! We thought our housekeeper was excellent! We were in room 220 and it's right off the parking garage, slightly noisy, but such a short walk to your car, it's worth it! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friederika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Friederika M,

Thank you for your review and we couldn’t agree more that the views of the Atlantic Ocean are spectacular from our resort. Denise and Hilary are both outstanding employees at the Tiki Bar and restaurant so I am pleased that they were able to give you great service. Our housekeepers work very hard and I am glad that they were courteous and friendly to you. In the off season, the rooms will be the focus of a renovation project at our resort. I invite you to think of us again the next time you are in the Wrightsville Beach area.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $124 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing