We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shell Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Blockade Runner Beach Resort(Wrightsville Beach)(Great Value!)
$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Gull Motel(Wrightsville Beach)(Great Value!)
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach(Wrightsville Beach)(Great Value!)
$191
$181
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$127
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Suites Motel(Wrightsville Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Inn(Wrightsville Beach)
Waterway Lodge(Wrightsville Beach)
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites(Wrightsville Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveler rating
490
314
157
97
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
490
314
157
97
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf bathsmall balconyindoor and outdoor poolsliving roomocean viewbeach chairsfamily vacationrooms face the oceanbeautiful beachtwo double bedssleeper sofabeach weddingfull kitchenthe entire staffmeredithconferencewilmington
Filter
Updating list...
787 - 792 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day for our anniversary. We had never been to the beach here before so we found this hotel via the web. The rooms on the website were nothing like the room we got. I was disappointed in the food and in the service that the hotel provided. The room was old and there was the sound of running water constantly in our room. It sounded like a toilet was running all day and all night, but it wasn't a toilet. I think it was the air conditioner ...but who knows. The price that we were quoted online was high so we thought it was going to be a VERY nice hotel...it wasn't.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Ehempen,

Thank you for spending your anniversary with us and we appreciate that you shared your feedback. There will be a major renovation in the off season that will focus on improving the quality of the rooms. Please give me a call at 910-256-8696 to discuss the specifics of what the issues were with the food and hotel services provided.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My visit to Shell Island Resort was good. Denise and Brittany at the Tiki Hut were great. The room was fair with the exception of the water. I woke up to turn on the water to take a shower and was amazed by the smell of rotten eggs coming out of the faucet. It stunk up the entire room.I was told by the front desk that the HOA was aware of the problem but no one wanted to get it repaired. If the water issue was resolved, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Jeffery L,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. We have many outstanding employees and I agree that both Denise and Brittany make the Tiki hut a fun place to relax and enjoy a cocktail overlooking the ocean. I am sorry but the front desk misinformed you; the HOA and the Town of Wrightsville Beach are taking all possible steps to improve the water here on the island.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed there for Labor Day weekend. Staff very friendly and very relaxing location. The rooms are suites so you have enough space. The properties are privately owned. Old decor but very overall had a nice time. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear lovetotravel0420,

We appreciate you spending the holiday weekend with us. I am pleased to hear that the staff was very friendly as guest services is our top priority. We also agree that we have the best beach location with the best ocean views of any resort on the island. In the off season the rooms will be undergoing a renovation project in time for the next busy season. Please let us know the next time you are in the area and we will see you again!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed here twice, for the convenience of being able to walk straight onto the beach. I cannot say enough good things about the beach in front of the hotel. It is shallow for a long way out, and lovely little pools form in the late afternoon for smaller children to play in. However, the room looked NOTHING like the picture, and was a shock. It is absolutely not worth the money. I think you can pay cheaper, and stay in a much nicer place with a shorter drive to the beach...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thechilichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear thechilichick,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us! We agree that the resort has the best access to the beach, not to mention it is the widest beach on the island. Both kids and adults alike can enjoy it with the sublime views anytime of the year. In the off season, the rooms will be undergoing a renovation project. Please call me at 910-56-8696 and let me know when you are in the area again so that we can get you a room that exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just had a long weekend in Wrightsville Beach. The beach itself couldn't have been better, and the hotel is ok. The bed made a lot of noise whenever anyone moved, but the room itself was clean and the furnishings were in decent shape otherwise. The tap water doesn't taste good--bring bottled water with you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Kate F,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We agree that the beach is sublime! In the off season, there will be a renovation project at the resort that will focus on the rooms. The next time a beach vacation calls, please think of us.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews