We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Well I'll start with check-in, room wasn't ready until almost 4 p.m. (check in was at 3 p.m.) I finally got the manager and she went up to help because there was only ONE housekeeper on staff.

Now on to the room, very cramped. I traveled with a family of four and we could barely move around without bumping each other.
Some of the other posts mentioned the outside corridor I did'nt have a problem with that, actually liked it.
The water is awful, (strong smell of sulfur). The bathroom doors did not lock and one of them did not even latch. (family of four tiny room, we need locking bathroom doors.) The remote to the T.V. did not work and was missing the rear cover, also only one T.V. in the den.

On to the restaraunt, the frier was down the entire trip which means no chicken fingers for the kids, out of apple juice, out of chocolate milk, my wife paid 7 dollars for a pina coloda and they apparently forgot that they are supposed to put alcohol in it. The food that we did get was O.K. but I've had better McDonalds. In all fairness the breakfast was good, big selection and FREE.

Now on to the important part- The Beach
It was beautiful, large, not crowded, bird sanctuary to the north and a inlet the kids loved!
All situated at a dead end road.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Doc1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2008

Visited shell island for the first time in may 2008.
Loved the area. Residential area. Very quiet. Beautiful view from front of the property and rear. Uncrowded beach, even on the weekend. Staff very accomodating with requests. Stayed in room 619. Nice decor.Not at all what we expected from the picture on the internet. Comfortable furniture, granite countertops in kitchenette.Looked as if it had been recently updated by owners.
Bedroom with king sized bed, very comfortable. Two bathrooms with nice features.Felt like we were at home in this room. Ordered from on site restaurant twice. Service was quick. Food was hot when delivered and delicious( sandwiches and appetizers). Hotel was clean. Housekeeping services were
efficient. Only negative thing to say was could hear noise very easily from room above us. Normally would go to florida or myrtle beach but plan on going back in august.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

My sister and I were both very happy with the accomodations, decor, 2 toilets & bathroom sinks separated by a door (allowing max privacy & convenience), and sensational views of the Atlantic. The beach is wide and relatively unpopulated (but this is April, so summer may have more people taking advantage of the beckoning sands and water). Being at the "end of the road" in Wrightsville Beach is a plus - marshes and a bird sanctuary extend to the north - gives a back-to-nature atmosphere, while still having comfortable indoor quarters. Included continental breakfast had more variety that I expected; i.e., scrambled eggs & toast your own waffles. Also stopped in restaurant for a light supper and was very pleased with the shrimp wrap.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Readsalot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

The location of the hotel is very nice but the service received was less than adequate. The staff made you feel like you were imposing upon them to ask a question. Although I found them to be nice, they were far less than accomodating and not at all concerned about making the stay a welcome one.

Although the hotel is ok, probably a three star at best, I will find somewhere else to stay when in the area again next year.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank iamjethrotull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We were kind of disappointed. the website looks new and fresh but reality is that the place is pretty rundown, if that wasnt the truth, then why are they currently (table saws and all) renovating half the hotel? Also the website says seasonal hours may apply. We have young kids and depend on the hotel restaurant and bar, and indoor pool for social time. Unfortunately seasonal hours means NO hours, its CLOSED folks and you are on an "island" of nothing but dominos pizza. I appreciated the low seasonal rates but didnt expect to be mislead by the website. The sign at the front desk even says they will charge you $50 if you want to leave early. What a load of crap.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank worldtraveler9tacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNCWALUM, Hotel Management at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2008

We do apologize if this guest felt like they were mislead by our website. We feel our website is a true reflection of our property and we try our best to update the website as well as our property when needed. We have been working on our property this off-season to make it a better product. As for the restaurant we do not post the hours on our website because the hours of operation fluctuate in our off-season. Early departure fees are standard in this industry and protect the hotel from holding rooms for guests and having to turn others away who would like to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We had a wonderful family vacation. The beach is beautiful and the views from the room are fabulous! It's a perfect place for that "no brainer" vacation, to simply sit, relax and recharge. Our sons even learned to surf throught the local surf school!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank twowallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Shell Island for a week, it only took one night to know that this was the worst mistake of our vacation. The window in the bedroom aligns the outdoor hallway, nice view from the bedroom, however, since the windows are not sound proof, we got to hear everyone's conversations, keeping us up till 2 am, and how wonderful, the maid's woke us up EVERY morning by 7 am. Not sure about you, but I don't want to be awake that early on my vacation. Since the hallway to your room is technically outside, the maids felt that it was okay to slam things around and yell all morning. They charge five dollars a day for internet, no big deal, but they charged us twice. We would have known this if they had given us the receipt for our stay. But the computers crashed, and they said they would mail us the receipt. Just pay extra and stay at the other hotels on the island. This one is not worth it, and we will never return. Oh, and when we arrived on our first day, our room wasn't even ready. Crappy experience all around, what a shame, it's a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank luvmypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNCWALUM, Hotel Management at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2007

I have tried to contact luvmypug directly, but have not received a response. I am sorry for their experience they had with us. We do have exterior corridors, and you may hear some noises along the hallway. Our housekeepers are scheduled to work at 8am, this is so we can have rooms available for people to check in at 3pm. I understand they have to clean rooms first thing in the morning and we try to accommodate everyone we can and work around our guests schedule the best we can. We again apologize for the inconvenience of getting your receipt. Unfortunately, we did have our computers go down and could not print their receipt at the time they were checking out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
140 reviews
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
432 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $135 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing