We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping non-existant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arrived at this resort in the rain and had not one but three bell staff watch us struggle with baggage in a down pour. Front desk staff very friendly as well as the restaurant personel. The restaurant was disappointing but convenient. We were there for a wedding and found that there were big differances in the quality of the rooms, ours was tired. Great location with beautiful views of the ocean. Housekeeping was very poor, barely made the beds. Would not return.

Room Tip: A roll of the dice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank war91553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were in attendance of a wedding at the resort. Checkin was a breeze - every staff member that we cam in contact with was very courteous and cordial. Room was on 6th floor and had oceanfront balcony. Cant say much about the amenities since we were with the wedding party and everything was prearranged. The only disappointment was that the entrance to the rooms were from an outside corridor - the weekend that we were there was cold and rainy (inside corridor would have been nice given the cost of the resort in off season). The location of the resort is at the north end of the island - very isolated which is a good thing (only 5 minute drive to center of town).

When we travel and stay at resorts we typically would not consider this as a resort but for our weekend it was very accomodating (wedding party)

On Sunday morning after the wedding we met for breakfast in the dining room - 16 of us at one table. The breakfast buffett was acceptable and reasonably priced -- especially since we did not have to leave the resort.

Room Tip: all of the rooms were ocean front with spectacular views - since they are individually owned, each h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilkialGreensboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

No housekeeping service. Pretty lame to be told you're on the list ( after we contacted them) and have staff not come through to do what they promised. Offered no apologies when delivering trash bags. I should have expected as much, judging by the overall condition /or lack of. Stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's a nice resort, right on the beach, where all rooms are suites with surprisingly complete kitchenettes in the living room. There is a bath and a half, 2 flat-screen TVs and a balcony overlooking the beach. There are two pools (not huge, but nice), one inside & one outside (with a hot-tub).

There is a volleyball net, well, the remains of one, on the beach. There is an "exercise room" but it doesn't have any type of weight machine, just a few dumbbells, a bike, treadmill, and elliptical machine. Hopefully there won't be more than 4 people try to use it at the same time.

There is a restaurant with light-fare including a small bar that closes at 9 PM. With every room a suite with a kitchenette, and many local dining options there simply isn't a lot of demand for more of a hotel restaurant.

The weakness with this facility is in ACTIVITIES. If you want to do more than lay around the pool or at the side of the ocean, you will have to look hard. The front desk didn't even have a recommendation for fishing charters! There were no ocean-kayaks, paddle-boards, or bicycles to sign out, there wasn't even a volleyball — someone went to Target and bought one so we could have a pick-up game!

If you want no more than to splash in the ocean or pool or lay on the beach, this is a great resort. If you want to build the special memories that come from DOING things together, you may want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonCooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I don't hand out five star reviews freely but Shell Island Resort earns it in my opinion. It wasn't perfect of course (room service is so-so) but when everything is added up there's no way it doesn't earn the stars.

My wife, son, and I have been there twice now- I like to visit a place a couple of times before a write-up. The best thing about this resort is it's location. It's right at the end of the beach. That's a big deal. From the hotel north there is nothing but undisturbed beach and dunes. It really offers a nice sense of privacy that you won't find at other hotels along the beach. You get the feeling that the beach is all yours.

The rooms are pretty nice, some more modern than others, since they are individually owned. All have convenient amenities, such as a fridge, stove, micorowave, coffe maker, etc. I'd expect that. What I hadn't initially expected was the view from the room. It's downright breathtaking, and that description doesn't do it justice. Every single room faces out toward the beach and ocean. To the best of my knowledge there's not a single mediocre view to be found. It's so nice to open the big glass sliders and walk out on to the balcony, listening to the waves crash on the shore.

The staff has always been courteous and prompt when a request is made. I've never eaten at the restaurant, though it sounds like a mixed bag. Breakfast room service was just ok.

Two pools, one inside, and a jacuzzi are nice touches. A volleyball net set in nice, powdery sand is just beyond the outside pool. Beyond that is the gorgeous beach. I highly recommend going left and walking north toward the end of the beach, where you can look across the inlet.

Overall, a great place to stay, relax and get away from the busier stretches of beach. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Northern end rooms have the best view of the tip of the beach and inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casper2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This resort is right on the beach. It is on the end of the island. Very quiet. The rooms are comfortable and clean but dated a bit. There is only one overpriced and small restaurant in the resort. Buy food and cook or better yet be prepared to go out for food. This is a relaxing resort. I got a lot of rest. You can rent a bike for $5 an hour. I liked it and would stay there again. The view of the beach and shore is amazing.

Room Tip: all rooms have a balcony and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1DallasCowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place was awesome . We were on 5 floor with beautiful balcony and it was so clean and had 2 baths . Had fun even though it was a bit cold outside , and windy but Loved this little apt. Will be back ,!all staff were very friendly and helpful !!and the wine... We got 2 bottles of the blackberry , cherry wine .. It was great !!! Must get it it was worth it!

Room Tip: Book it !you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpeterse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $124 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing