We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mr.moe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

When to Shell Island Resort for our daugthers wedding a very small beach wedding just family put together by my wife and daugther.The wedding was great,the beach was beautiful and the staff at Shell Island was the best.The hotel put on 6 or 7 wedding that weekend some very fancy some really nice.We put ours on ourselfs,but back to the hotel.The staff at Shell Island was one of the best we have ever had during vacations or on business trips. We highly recommend Wrightsville Beach as a vacation destination

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Mr. Moe - Thank you for kind words about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you had a great time at the wedding and enjoyed the resort. I will be sharing your feedback with the staff as they will truly appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We only stayed one night but were very impressed for many reasons: newly refurbished so units were very nice, each unit has 1.5 baths--very handy for getting ready, right on the beach--beautiful view, it's the northernmost building on the island next to a nature preserve so it is a great location--you can walk to the north point of the island and around to the inland marshes, very friendly staff, ......great value!

Room Tip: Don't get a unit near the elevators--too noisy. Stay on the third floor or above so as to get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Jane - Thanks for the comments on your recent stay with us. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer and not only enjoy the views, but both pools, and dine in our very own North End Bistro. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a fantastic four-day getaway at the Shell Island Resort! When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet, so we went to do a bit of grocery shopping. Came back an hour later and were greeted by name and given our keys. In a much-appreciated gesture, we were also given vouchers to have breakfast at the hotel the next day. In a time when customer service is not always given the importance it should be, this was a very nice gesture, and the omelet station and fresh fruit made our breakfast even better!
Our room was fine - love the balcony and view of the beach. We didn't have fantastic weather, but were very comfortable and found plenty to do. One day by the pool the day before we left was enough for me to want to come back to enjoy the beach and pool "in season". I hope we'll be back soon!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank jamestown103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Jamestown - Thanks for the terrific feedback on your stay with us at the Shell Island Resort. I do apologize for the delay in your room. We have so many guests that don't want to leave the beautiful area we have to practically kick them out! I'm glad you enjoyed the great breakfast that the staff prepares each morning in the North End Bistro. We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully the weather will be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed only one night and that was really too few to do this place justice. The room was great, clean and really pleasant overlooking the beach. The staff were all really friendly and enthusiastic. The hotel restaurant was a surprise, really nice quality food. I had a really good special of the day, swordfish steak. It is good the restaurant is worth going to as otherwise you will have to get in the car to go elsewhere as the Hotel is "out on its own". Ultimately this place is about the fabulous beach. It does not disappoint. I loved it.

Room Tip: Book it and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Mr. Englishman - Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Shell Island Resort. The staff works hard in all aspects to exceed your expectations. As we are getting ready for the season we will be opening our poolside pool bar, so keep an eye out for our new restaurant and pool menus offerings which we will be releasing soon. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Location was excellent, rooms were partially updated. Bathrooms were outdated. There was no hot water in a shower. Rooms were not so clean, dust everywhere, especially behind beds.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments about the Shell Island Resort. Your feedback is extremely important and helpful for us. As each unit is individually owned with separate hot water heaters, our maintenance staff will review to ensure all are working properly. Also, as we continue to prepare for the summer season, our housekeeping staffing is being increased and trained on the room cleaning. I can assure you that the detail areas, including the beds will be addressed and corrected. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The rooms were not 5 Star in terms of cleanliness but what awesome location! Restaurant was priced high, so we skipped it but everything else was very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Shell Island Resort. We are glad that the location had fit your families needs. As we continue to strive to exceed guests expectations, I will review your comments with the Housekeeping and Restaurant departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have been putting this off because I don't like to give bad reviews...in all the places I have stayed this is probably one of the least favorite resorts I have stayed at. The beach was excellent and views of the beach from the room were beautiful..that's as good as it gets.

We stayed in room 906. The bedroom with two full beds was very small, the closet door would not open so we lived out of our suitcases and there was next to no floor space in which to place them. The other closet door was broken also in the living room area next to kitchenette. We had no full size coffeemaker and we were told we had a coffeemaker in our room...well sure enough we did...a single cup hotel room one that would not work for 3 adults. We had to go to walmart that evening and buy us a coffeemaker. The sofa bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Upon trying to use the internet it was unavailable as too many people were using it....please!!!!!! The paint was peeling off the tub area near the floor and some TLC would have taken care of that problem. The rooms were very small and outdated to say the least and way over-priced @ $200.00 a night! Upon reading other reviews we weren't even given the option for a premium room,,,I hope this wasn't it....hahaha. And to make matters worse if that was at all possible some prankster who stayed in the room before us set the alarm clock to go off at three separate times during the late night hours when we all were asleep. This was no fun getting up in the middle of the night trying to figure out what was going on with a 3 year old trying to sleep in the next bed.!!!! To top it all off upon checking out all the luggage carts were gone and we were told they would call us as soon as one became available, after waiting 30 minutes we carried it all down ourselves. They never did return our call for a luggage cart!

What a relaxing spring break! Thank goodness for the beach and the surf!

Room Tip: Do not get room 906!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdPuodziunas, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Marilyn - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. Just as much as you don't like giving a bad review, we don't like seeing them. However, we all look at it as an opportunity to improve in our operations. Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated as it did lay out some specific items for me to address with the staff. While the bedroom space with two beds does become somewhat tight, we hope that there is enough space to move around, along with the living area and 1 1/2 bathrooms. The maintenance and housekeeping items have been brought to the attention of the departments to make corrective action. I do apologize on the coffee maker, while every room has a single cup maker on the counter, there is an additional 12 cup brewer in the kitchen cabinet. We have gone back and ensured that all staff members are aware of the additional brewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $128 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing