We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great people.”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We are big travelers and found this resort to be a refreshing discovery. The service was incredibly friendly, from valet to beach to room to front desk. The view was beautiful...we will return to this great resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    275
    135
    85
    52
See reviews for
388
244
28
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 1-year-old son. I was excited about the trip as I have stayed at Shell Island several times in the past and have been quite satisfied with the experience. Unfortunately, this stay turned out to be different. To begin, the price of the room was quite high (around $300 per night). Second, we were unable to get much sleep due to a very loud party being held in the unit next to ours. While this can happen in any hotel, it added to the disappointment. The next morning we awoke and were excited to introduce our son to the hotel pool. We found the pool closed all day and no one could tell us what the problem was. We then needed to change a diaper and asked the front desk staff where the closest changing table was. They had no idea and were not willing to help us locate one. We looked everywhere and could not find one on the main level and ended up changing his diaper on the floor of the lobby. The most unfortunate aspect of the experience was the poor response from customer service. They did not provide any helpful response to what I felt was valid feedback and instead offered a reduced rate later in the year. I will not pursue this as it does not address my concerns and I feel it is important to let other families know of our disappointing (and expensive) experience. I hope that it is helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kb27707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was my first visit to this resort. Our stay was only 3 nights, came in Sunday and left Wednesday. The cost was a little over 210 a night.

The pros: Every room is ocean front view. We stayed on the 6th floor so the view was as good as it gets! All rooms have a small balcony (3 people max) . The room was very nice but pretty small. It did have 1.5 bathroom which was nice for such a small room. The bed room had its own small lcd tv which was nice. The kitchen/living room was ok and functional. A two burner stove, microwave above that, sink, and small fridge. Kitchen had everything you needed to cook to include dishes and Silverware . The pools one inside and one outside were fairly small but kept very clean. I'm guessing about 20 chairs for laying out in the sun with maybe 10 tables with big sun umbrellas. Also one small hot tub at the outside pool. There is a nice short wooden walkway straight to the beach. Also one fresh water shower with a outlet at the bottom if you only wanted to rinse your feet off. Note this was a congestion area at times as people had to wait on each other. Also ate lunch in the hotel resteraunt the food was good, slaw was awesome if you love horseraddish like I do. Both of us ate for around 20 bucks. I could have done with out the fries on the floor but oh well.

The beach is just perfect. Very large area, and since this is the last hotel (excuse me "resort" on the island, there are no other buildings obstructing your view toward the north.

My biggest pro and this one is a biggie for me. Every hotel staff I came across looked me in the eye and had something nice to say or ask if there was anything they could help me with. I know they work hard every day but I got the feeling most everyone enjoyed their job and it shows in the way the guests are treated. This is the main reason I will stay here again.

Ok now for the cons. The cost is a bit much for the size of the rooms.

Although I didn't stay on the ground floor I don't see how you could see the ocean because of the sand dunes. If the view is important to you I would say second floor or better.

As for noise, the walls seem pretty thin. Granted it was after midnight I don't feel I should be able to hear my upstairs neighbor going to the bathroom. Sorry for tmi but I could. Also because of the sturdy concrete construction and the fact that the bed room is located beside the only walkway to the rooms which is outside by the way, expect to hear and feel everyone walk by. Our last night was not so fun due to some teens that were running up and down at 2 am.

Let's see I guess the only other things. We reported a slow draining tub on Sunday to the front desk which was never seen to. No biggie. As a side not if you are a real tall person the shower was maybe 6' 4" tall. Just my guess.

So overall a nice place that's a little small for the price. Weekend of course pretty crowded. A family friendly place imo. Staff is 5 star! Also note there is a life guard station right in front of the hotel. You can rent big umbrellas and beach chairs for the day if desired.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheelroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellIsland1, Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We're glad that you enjoyed your time with us and take great pride in our staff providing anything that our guests needs.
I'll make sure that our staff receives your positive feedback.
If there is ever a time that you'd like to return, please don't hesitate to call our Sales office to help assist in possibly finding a better rate. It never hurts to ask and we will do what we can to accommodate.
Thanks again and have a wonderful summer.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Absolutely heaven on the beach. The Shell Island is the number one place to stay when in Wrightsville Beach. From the minute we stepped out of our car to check in, the staff treated us as royalty. Everyone is always so friendly, from the guys carting your luggage to the front desk, to the cleaning people, to the rental guy on the beach with chairs and umbrellas. The resort is always absolutely sparkling, as are the rooms. The restaurant, while being very convenient, serves great food any time of the day.

We visit family in Wrightsville Beach, and the kids always look forward to coming to Shell Island to visit us so they can use the indoor pool.

This was our second stay with Shell Island, and we plan to stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Just call and talk to one of the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy7814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were so pleased to have the view of the ocean and the large beach. The rooms have a balcony, living room area, 4-top table and a kitchen. Nice to have an option to cook instead of eating out for every meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a 01 room (501, 401)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjoyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Very disappointed that the indoor pool was closed - it was an unappealing green color and smelled strange. The location was great and the room had a great view. Room was dusty however. Check in staff was friendly but disorganized - they could not figure out how to make the credit card machine work leading to a delay in our check in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_travels60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Location is incredible - its at the farthest end of the island, so not as crowded as other locations, especially the rival (higher priced) named resort. Beach quality is also excellent. Powdery white sands. Further down towards the crowded areas / pier it was nowhere near as nice.

Room was great - a full picture window overlooking the great beach and a little balcony with chairs. Nice kitchenette. Beds were a little well used, but I still got a great nights sleep.

Staff had a passion for service & great attitude. I often saw the manager/supervisor walking the grounds checking everything was in order (which it was). Place was very well kept, & clean. I did not have any problems, but felt if there was a difficulty the staff would do everything they could to help.

We ate in the restaurant one night. The food was cooked nicely & portions were well sized. It was good value, quality cooking perfectly suited for families (perhaps better than say a Cracker Barrel). Service was excellent. We would eat there again, especially due to convenience.

I was glad I booked here & had a great stay. It was great value for the money at $169 a night. I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid room on lower floors & center of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing