We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach, Not so great room!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Not so great room!!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed in room 211 for one week in August, when we arrived at our room the air conditioning unit was not working and it was above 90 degrees in the room. We had to contact an emergency number and we had to spend our Saturday waiting for the repair man to fix the problem. Then we were locked out of our room more than 3 times because the keys were not working properly and we also had to wait for hours at a time to be able to get back into our room. The furniture in the room was old and very uncomfortable. The sofa bed was stain and very nasty. The room was cleaner after we left than when we got it.

In conclusion, LOVED the BEACH!!! but hated the hotel, we won't be staying there again...

  • Liked — THE BEACH
  • Disliked — THE ROOM
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotor841956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNCWALUM, Hotel Management at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2007
I am sorry this guest did not enjoy their room or stay at Shell Island. Our Suites are individually owned by homeowners and they have an option to be in our rental program. This particular suite (211) is currently not in our program. Some of the owners will elect to have a local agency rent their suites for them and this is the case for this suite. The owners that do elect to be in our rental program have to be approved by our standards in order to be rented on a nightly basis. I hope the next time they are in Wrightsville Beach they will contact us directly through Shell Island Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    286
    138
    87
    54
See reviews for
409
251
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We booked and prepaid over a month ahead so we got a pretty good deal averaging $134 a night. The room was clean, showing its age alittle, but still nice. Staff was very friendly. LOVED the view of the ocean. LOVED all the windows in the livingroom. Bring your own water, their water is nasty. Restaurant was a tad expensive, but good for lunch- we never went for dinner. Husband says the workout room left much to be desired.

Yes the elevators were hot, but WHO CARES? you are in them for like 30 seconds.

I was very happy with our stay and we might start making a yearly tradition out of it!

  • Liked — The VIEW
  • Disliked — The tap water.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This was my second trip to Shell Island (first visit was in September 2005), and it continues to be an excellent value. The location at the very northern end of Wrightsville Beach is relatively secluded, and the beach is wide and beautiful. All suites are oceanfront and have great views, particularly on higher floors. The kitchenettes are decently equipped with two burners, a microwave, half refrigerator, and coffee maker, although it would be nice to have an oven for some serious cooking. However, it's a luxury to have one-and-one-half baths in a one-bedroom apartment.

I do wish the maid hadn't disturbed us by knocking on our door at 8:40 AM two mornings in a row--is it really necessary to start making up rooms at that hour? Also, the rates charged for beach umbrellas and chairs are exorbitant: $8.00 per chair/umbrella or $20.00 for two chairs/one umbrella PLUS tax. Bring your own and save the cash.

  • Liked — The suites have decent kitchenettes so that you can save some money by cooking at least occasionally.
  • Disliked — The water coming out of the taps is absolutely undrinkable--very sulfurous. Be sure to have bottled water on hand.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novotna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Shell Island Resort is perfect! We visit Wrightsville each year, but this is the first time I stayed here for my entire trip. The rooms are great. 2 restrooms in each suite!
The indoor pool is great when it's chilly outside or you need a break from the sun.
The outdoor pool is clean and has plenty of seating.
There is an outdoor play area for the kids to take a break from the water.
The beach is right there, so rent the umbrellas and chairs early and enjoy them the whole day...
The continental breakfast is just that, but it has plenty of fruit and other choices for all ages and tastes.
The front desk employess are very helpful as were the banquet employees.

  • Liked — The location on the beach is away from all the traffic.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank txtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardeeville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I was looking for a nice resort in which to have my sons wedding. Coming from out of town, I was not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were comfortable, clean and all had beautiful views of the ocean. This end of the island was away from the crowded sections and lent to a quiet and pleasant beach experience. The staff was accomodating and efficient and gracious. When my son's beach wedding was rained out, the manager said he would set up a room for us to hold the ceremony. The manager and his staff arrange the room with chairs, plants and other items that decorated the room beautifully and the wedding proceeded without a hitch! I highly recommend this resort for families, special occasions or just a quiet romantic time with someone special.

M. Romeo
Bradenton, Fla.

  • Liked — beach views and friendly staff
  • Disliked — difficult route to reach handicap ramp from hotel. End of ramp has drop off to beach.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing