We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

First time here, but if we visit this area again, we will return. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Other staff courteous also. About 1/2 of the rooms are ocean view with the other half bay view. Indoor pool is heated, outdoor pool is not but it was just as warm in late August. Beach chairs ($7.00) and umbrellas ($12.00) rental are available from pool staff. They will take to the beach and set them up for you. Facility is very clean and up kept.
For dining, the Oceans Restaurant (also rated on Trip Advisor) is very good. Free coffee is available from the lobby, but you have to pay for all other food. Price on food is in line (a tad high) for a resort - the food is very good though.
They also have organized kids activities.
Complementary shuttle service (within 5 miles which includes a large mall) is available. You just request a transport time and call when ready for your return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stalprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

1st timer! Yeah! Thank you stalprint for choosing us and we are excited for you to return :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 671 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is located on a wonderful beach! It is not really within walking distance of other restaurants or shops but they offer free shuttle service so you don't have to take your car out and worry about parking.
We have never had a problem with any in our room or reservation. The hotel could use some updating but it is clean. The staff is very nice and friendly.
The only problem I could find was that people from the beach who weren't staying at the hotel walked in and used the pool. There are wristbands to wear at the pool but with so many people, no one really checks. It is annoying to pay $350+ for a room and then have "freeloaders" use it and take up chairs. They ought to use a card system to swipe your card to get in off the beach like most hotels do.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you Missshopper for staying with us! Yes, we're just a 2-3 minute drive away from local restaurants, shopping and water activities. I apologize you were not able to enjoy the full pool and sundeck experience. Our employees do try to check for non-hotel guests at the pool area but sometimes they can be missed. I will forward your comments/suggestions to our Food & Beverage Director for review. We do hope to see you again soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We enjoy every aspect of the Holiday Inn in Wrightsville Beach. The location, restaurants, pools, beach, employees, ease of (free)parking. Every visit is a nice stay. My wife loves this particular H.I.
This is our 3 time there. Hurry up next Summer. look forward to going back. Just a suggestion....book early.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Blatt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Love it Blatt2014! Thank you for choosing us and for recognizing our great resort and staff. Yes, I definitely recommend booking early for the summer-probably 3-4 months in advance to ensure your preferred accommodations and dates. If you can't wait till next Summer, come back now! Fall temps, great rates and even more room on the beach :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stay every year for a conference. Concierge gave us a great tip on a hidden gem golf course, magnolia greens. Was nice enough to ask if we were looking for a good value or a high priced course. We chose the value and it was great. Front desk goes out of there way to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are fine and in line with all hotels but the attitude and service makes it a 5 star. They have a movie night that my kids enjoyed from the balcony. Breakfast is not included but reasonably priced and great. Nice, safe and a great beach stay with a great staff. Gym , bar, arcade and free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Wow! Thanks so much ken c for the 5 star review! Our Guest Activities and Front Desk staff are awesome and do try to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing y'all again soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a good property with helpful staff and very good service. The rooms are nice and quiet, many with great views of the ocean. Even with a connecting door, we had no problem with noise. The elevators are painfully slow, so using the stairs is often a good plan if you just want to go a floor or two. Parking is free, with outdoor and covered availability on most days. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, which helps keep the cost down for lunches, etc. Overall, the rooms are adequate ansd the location very good. On the other hand, you pay a pretty penny for the convenience and location, so be prepared.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and ice machines, and you can get a good night's sleep. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you travelguyPa! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait for you next visit. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Best choice of our vacation! Oceanfront! Hotel and beach are non-smoking!

We had been here previously in February 2009 and had a view of both the ocean and the sound. It is much nicer in August! Our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived so we left our bags with the bellman and sat on the pool deck while we waited. Perfect way to wait for our room! We spoke to the concierge, Danny, and were very pleased with the suggestions he made for places to go to dinner in town.

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are open and airy! We had a whirlpool suite with handicap access and two queen beds (that was the only room available) as we made last minute reservations. I thought the bed linens were quite nice. I have to say the towels could definitely be improved. The balcony was wonderful, air conditioning was great, furnishings were comfortable, lighting and outlets were great! The parking garage was big and pretty well lit. They also offered outside parking as well.

The pool and beach were clean and easily accessed from the hotel. They have an indoor pool as well as the outdoor one.

Everyone that we interacted with at the hotel were wonderful. The employees were great and it was wonderful to meet so many other guests who were so nice and pleasant as well.

As the beach in Wrightsville is a non-smoking beach it was wonderful not to have to be concerned about second-hand smoke. The entire resort is non-smoking including the exterior areas. No smoking allowed on the balconies either. After a disappointing stay in Myrtle Beach this was such a refreshing experience!

Room Tip: Oceanfront! It's worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

We've been wondering where you've been Queen_412! We are so glad you came back to visit us. We do try to honor early check-in requests, but if you have to wait, I guess it's good to have a great lounge chair and an ocean breeze right? Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We can't wait for y'all to return soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the first week in August. This was our 10th year in a row that we have stayed there. As always, the hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were clean. Many staff members have been there several years. Chris at the Lazy Daze took great care of us. The pools were very clean and the kids loved the Dive In Movie. We used the shuttle service to go to dinner several nights. Drivers were friendly and on time. Please thank Anne Marie for making this a special trip for us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Thank YOU Lisa M for your loyalty! Wow! Ten years and counting. We are happy to always meet and exceed our guest's expectations. Thank you for acknowledging one of our magnificent Mixologists, Chris. He has been with us since day one and takes great care of our guests! How convenient is our complimentary shuttle service? You get friendly service and a free ride to local businesses. Anne Marie thanks you for your comments and is excited that you enjoyed your special trip with us :o) We hope to see y'all again soon! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $122 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing