We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

As a person who used to love this hotel I am very sad to have to write this review. My kids and I checked into this hotel earlier this evening only to have stayed a few hours. as our room was already occupied with giant "water bugs". When I called the front desk some one came up right away and found the problem. Unfortunately there was no remedy for our situation as the front desk people told us that there is nothing they can do about the "water bugs" because the hotel is on the beach and the "water bugs" like damp climates. They did offer us another room, we declined and checked out immediately. Sorry Holiday Inn at Wrightsville Beach I used to be a big fan of yours.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Mom2bsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Mom2bsc, I am so sorry for our service failure in handling the situation. After speaking to our General Manager yesterday, I do hope that you decide to return to us one day. Thank you again for your loyalty and we hope to see you and your family again. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 677 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed several times at this resort. Our last visit was as good as the previous ones. The hotel is very clean. Staff is very attentive and helpful. We also had dinner at the restaurant and were very satisfied with the service. Will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfurdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Rad Redfurdog! Thank you for recognizing our attentive, helpful staff and great restaurant. We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for choosing us :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I have been to Wrightsville Beach numerous times, but this was our first stay at the Holiday Inn so we weren't sure what to expect. We stayed during Memorial Day weekend so we knew to expect crowds and the general craziness that comes with a holiday weekend. Check in was easy and the front desk staff were efficient and friendly. We grabbed a luggage cart and headed up to our room on the fifth floor (out of seven). It was a king room with a balcony and didn't face the beach but it was a decent view over the beach town and the waterway. As other reviewers have noted the rooms are small. At least, our room was small for a four-day beach stay. The balcony helped with the space issue and the ceilings were high with floor to ceiling windows so that helped. There was a larger fridge, big enough for drinks and a few snacks, a pullout couch and coffee table and desk.
The room was clean and the bathroom was average size. The sink was in the bathroom with a shower/tub. The bed was very comfortable and for a busy weekend, I was surprised how quiet the hotel was at night.
The property itself was very nice. There was complimentary punch downstairs and the lobby was large with lots of seating space. Free coffee was available until 10:30, but the restaurant could also give you a cup to go if you missed the cut off. The pool was laid out well so even with a lot of people, you didn't feel like people were on top of you. There was also an upper deck overlooking the beach which became our afternoon go to spot. We enjoyed the evening music Friday and Saturday nights and found a good spot with a couple of chairs with a nice view of the beach and not too far from the bar. We didn't eat in the main restaurant but the bar was nice and the drinks were well made.
We did have lunch at the pool bar/snack area one day and it was very good and not as pricey as I was expecting. The line to the bar was steady during the weekend but the well made margaritas were well worth standing in line for. You can also rent chairs and umbrellas for the day - worth ever penny. They set them up and you don't have to worry about hauling them back to your room. A sturdy umbrella and comfortable chair is the perfect way to spend a day at the beach. Get downstairs by 8:30 and hold your chair and umbrella as they have a limited amount and sold out fast the weekend we were there.
There is a shuttle that will take you to local restaurants, bars and shops. It leaves on the half hour and calling to reserve a spot is a good idea. The shuttles always left on time and were quick to pick us up. There aren't any restaurants or bars near the hotel, so having the shuttle was a huge plus. We also worked out one morning in the fitness room and it was clean and the equipment was nice. It overlooked the pool and beach, making the morning run a little more bearable.
Overall, we were impressed with this property and it grew on us the longer we stayed there. All the staff we encountered - including the manager, Anne Marie - were wonderful, accommodating and were eager to help make our stay fun. This isn't a place where you are going to linger in your room with a cup of coffee and your computer. You are at the beach which is the point, but its nice to have the space to linger and ease into the day if that's what you like to do on vacation.
We left the Holiday Inn very satisfied with our stay and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenCtyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Wowzers! Thank you QueenCtyChick for the awesome review. It sounds like y'all were able to enjoy a lot of our amenities at our great resort. So glad you enjoyed the Harbor side room, did you get to watch the sunset? It's just beautiful on that side. I will definitely pass on your comments about our wonderful staff and Margaritas :o) Please visit us again soon! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found this hotel through the dive shop and really liked it. Booked our trip in January so our dive team could enjoy all the hotel has to offer. Greeted by smiling faces at all areas of the hotel. The beach was being worked on but we were heading 14 miles out to wreck dive so that was no issue. Tuesday was managers night special so food was available for us. The restaurant was pleasant and the staff was always smiling and glad to help as needed. We even met the mascot, "Gabby" (the parrot) and enjoyed the time spent. The rooms were spacious and clean and water was hot. After a day of diving that was a welcome event. The pool was well maintained and staff were available to help if you had questions. The hot tubs were just right to relax after a full day. All rooms are looking at the beach and pool, great views.

This location was the best and would stay there if in the area. Our group will be making reservations for 2015 to return and enjoy all the hotel has to offer. Our group feels this place is the best for price and accommodations.

Room Tip: Get 5th floor or higher. Better view of beach, ocean and shore line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Welcome back Retired_NG! Yes, the beach renourishment is done and we now have a huge beautiful beach again. Our staff was so happy to host you guys again this year and we can't wait to see you again next year or sooner :o) Thank y'all for choosing us again and again! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel as a spur of the moment getaway.....I can not say enough about this property and staff!!!!!.....The pictures do not do it justice...and they are beautiful!!!!!....when you enter the 1st floor you are greeted by a lemonade cart....nice touch!!!!....upstairs the lobby is laid back....pretty.....the checkin staff is very friendly.....the rooms are spacious and offer beautiful views...the bedding is topnotch.....the pools are beautiful and VERY clean....an abundance of staff to satisfy your every need.....the restaurant has a beautiful setting....and wonderful outside dining.....again the staff is WONDERFUL......

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 684pattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Yay! Thanks so much for the wonderful review Patti S! Our staff does aim to please and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. I hope you took away great memories and lots of photos :o) We await your return! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

location is awesome. Staff friendly & professional. Very clean. Lots of perks for guests. Pool deck is clean with nice chairs. Beach dredging going on now which is neat to see. Still have beach access too. Food good. Lots of parking. Lots to do in Wilmington just a few historic minutes away also. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToVacation525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

What we LOVE to hear LoveToVacation525! Thank you lots for the great review and for recognizing our friendly & professional staff and all the wonderful perks available to our guests. We hope to see y'all again soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been visiting this hotel for years however this is my second review for this hotel, the first review was in April 2012. I said it was perfect then and the hotel and staff did not disappoint on this trip either. Great place to hold a conference or business meeting, or just to spend time with the family on the beach. Not much had changed since my last visit. This trip was partly business partly pleasure. I had a conference I was attending but was able to bring the family, this includes a toddler. The staff was wonderful to my 18 month old. She loved every minute and made friends with lot of the of the housekeeping crew. House keeping was great. Carefully avoided naptime once finding out we had a toddler and provided extra bags and extra trash pick up to deal with diapers.

Room Tip: Harbor side is nice, but you can't beat ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Welcome back tonjas2000 & family! Thank you for staying with us again and again. Our Housekeeping Department is great and I will pass on your comments to them :o) Come back soon! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
149 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $126 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing