We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best oceanfront hotel in Wrightsville beach. The Kids Club was a big hit with our 8 yr. old.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed July 4-7 and were very happy with this hotel. The oceanfront location was perfect and there were plenty of lounge chairs at the pool even though it was a busy holiday weekend- in fact, the resort didn't feel overly crowded at all. The 2 queen room was a bit small but was meticulously clean. Next time we visit we will definitely book in time to reserve the larger Kid's Suite room.

Housekeeping did a great job tidying up after us each day and even arranged our kids' stuffed animals on the bed - which put big smiles on our faces each day.

Our 8 year old loved the Kids Club and begged to go for a little while each day. They offered 3 different time slots (10-12pm, 1-3pm, and 6-10pm).

Oceana, the hotel restaurant, has a great breakfast that we really enjoyed, however, I'd recommend checking out the fare at the local restaurants for lunch and dinner.

Overall, we had a wonderful time in Wrightsville Beach and we think this resort is the best choice for oceanfront accommodations. We'll definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi IMGB,
Thank you for the kudos. We do have a great KidSpree staff that always has lots of fun things planned for the kids....Zumba, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and Arts & Crafts. Thank you for staying with us and we'll see you again soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 675 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

For the price we paid for this hotel, I was surprised at the hotels condition. The room was average, had a broken air conditioner...mediocre bedding and average to poor service. The amenities were nice, however unkept. There were lots of wet towels all over the pool area, used drinks and unclean table. The game room smelled like urine. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hi Jennifer G,
I apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us and sincerely regret your plans to not return to our hotel. If you would like to further add any comments or suggestions please contact our General Manager, Anne Marie Hartman, at amhartman@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com. If you had not already reported it to our Front Desk/Maintenance during your stay, please reply to me with your room number at arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com so that we may check the A/C unit.
Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have stayed all the Holiday Inn for 6 years and we are treated like gold. We have 6 year old twins and an 8 year old and they love the kids club where they have dinner do crafts and watch a movie for $12 per child. During the day you can take kids to kids club if your kids get too much sun from either 10-12 or 1-3 pm for $5 per kid. If you have kids and want to go out to dinner with your spouse this is awesome. On Wednesday nights they have a dive in movie where you can swim and watch a movie while you swim in the pool.

The manager Anne Marie knows each our girls by name and for our past two trips we have received gift baskets to welcome us for the summer. The food is great and kids eat free in the restaurant with two adults. If you have children between 4 and 11 this place is wonderful if you want a family vacation, but a couple of hours alone with your spouse!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Malonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hello Malonefamily,
Thank y'all for choosing us year after year! The Kids Club is a great place for kids to have fun and meet new friends. And it has been great to see a lot of little ones grow up since our hotel opened in 1999. I will pass on your wonderful comments and we will see you guys soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed six days. We had a great time. The hotel is situated in a perfect location. We could swim in the pool and walk to the beach. The waves in the ocean were fun. We collected a lot of sea shells. The lifeguard was right outside the hotel.
On the beach. We drove into Wilmington daily for food which was about a 5 min. Drive. The choices for dining were never ending- so yummy! We only dined at the hotel one morning for breakfast. The food was good/nice fresh fruit. The housekeeping did not come until after 3pm most of the days. I was a little dissapointed with that.The customer service was nice and all the staff seemed friendly. All and all we had a fun beach vacation. We would like to go back again. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffany d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Hi tiffany d,
Thank you for staying with us! Our location is perfect - within 5-10 minutes of great cuisine, shopping, water sports and outdoor activities. I am sorry housekeeping did not get to your room sooner, they do try to turnover/clean rooms asap before our check-in time at 4pm. We'd love to see y'all again - give us a call to make your reservations now. 877-330-5050 Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Oceanfront room, oceanfront pool, awesome beach! Rooms were a little on the small side but this is the nicest Holiday Inn we have ever stayed in! The pool and oceanfront deck area were great. Also liked the outside dining and deck area with rockers.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bassettmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello bassettmom,
I second that - our Oceanfront Terrace is a great area for dining al fresco, rockin' in the rockers or rockin' to the live music :o) Thank you & we hope to see y'all again soon. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow. I was disappointed by our stay at the Sunspree this weekend. A place we have stayed a dozen times over the last few years. The room was okay as usual, but no one cleaned our room on Saturday, even though we were out. There must be new management because the fun, beachy attitude is totally dead and the cheerful,helpful staff is gone! The front desk staff was pleasant, but the staff throughout the rest of the hotel just want to hang out and talk to one another and are visibly annoyed if you interrupt their conversations. It was a hot day on Saturday, with little breeze. The pool staff wouldn't let us open the umberellas for shade because they said they would be in trouble if one blew over. The host staff at the restaurant were 3 teenaged girls who chatted and bit their nails (gross!)at the host station. My husband felt like they gave him alot of attitude about getting us seated. We had one waitress waiting on what must have been 7 tables. The seafood tasted rotten. Scallops and the swordfish special. This used to be a really good restaurant we loved! I think there is new management that is trying to cut costs across the board, and the experience we have known and loved for years has suffered. This may work for people who are just coming for a one-time trip, but not for us repeat customers who are looking for a reliably pleasant stay. We only live an hour away, and will start to look for a replacement for "our beach house" as we used to call the Sunspree.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyAvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hi AmyAvis,
I am so sorry you were disappointed on your last stay. I apologize for all the below standard experiences/encounters you had. While onsite, I hope our manager(s) you spoke with about the experience(s) were helpful and rectified the situation immediately. If you did not speak with anyone, please contact our General Manager, Anne Marie Hartman. She has been with us since day 1 when we opened in 1999. We would like you to give us another chance to exceed your expectations next time. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great place, very clean and superb location. I was very pleased when I found that my "partial ocean view" room had a fantastic view of the ocean. Couldn't have been happier. Great service and very clean rooms. They offer rates that include breakfast which is great. You can choose from the buffet which has a lot of selections or a la carte. The Omelette station is great and the chef was very friendly. Great perk for the families is the kids club, which will entertain your kids while giving you a chance to relax by the pool or take a walk on the beach. Will definitely be back and bring the kids too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear SusannaFC,
Sounds like you enjoyed your time spent with us and your surprise ocean view room with whirlpool. Great pics! I am glad you took advantage of the KidSpree Activities Program - it's awesome for kids ages 4-12. Thank you for staying with us and hurry back :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
148 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $112 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing