We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just booked a block of rooms here for our Wrightsville Beach wedding, and our guests were blown away by the accommodations and the experience. The hotel was clean, the staff was responsive and attentive, and the view and services were exceptional. Having received feedback about this hotel and another Wrightsville Beach hotel from our guests, the experience was far superior at the Holiday Inn Resort. We would recommend this hotel as the best place to stay on Wrightsville Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAL910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Congrats KAL910!
Thank you for choosing us for your guest's accomodations for your wedding. I am so stoked to pass along your wonderful comments to all of our staff. Remember, if you're local, don't be a stranger - bring your newly acquired spouse & come hang out with us for some live music Thursday-Saturday nights :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    205
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
233
197
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family traditionally rents homes/condos when going to the beach but this time we only had 4 days/3 nights so we gave this Holiday Inn a host based on tripadvisor notes. I must say overall great stay. Access to the beach and both indoor/outdoor pools is the main reason for this rating. Easy to get on and off the beach with kids in tow. Chairs and umbrella rentals available for the beach. Wait staff at the pool for drinks or food. We took advantage of the kids club. First time we let our kids go with anyone other then family and they had a great time. Kids club staff was awesome! Met bartender Chris upstairs and he was a wealth of local knowledge and was great to chat with. Great trip and we will be back for some more beach time. Thanks to the Holiday Inn staff!!!

Room Tip: ocean front is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Robert M,
Yay! Another satisfied customer :o) So glad your family had a great stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to recognize some of our awesome staff! We can't wait to see y'all again soon. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in a row my husband and I spent our anniversary weekend here. We are locals and there is something to be said for driving 15 minutes to get to your vacation! The staff at this hotel can not be beat... No exceptions! Bell staff, front desk staff, activities desk, restaurant staff, pool staff, housekeeping and the gift shop... ALL stellar. Attentive, helpful, friendly and accommodating in every way. Breakfast is the only meal we ate there and the low carb chicken with poached eggs was perfect. We spent most of our time on the upper deck looking at the ocean. Great walks north to the end of the island and early in the morning it felt like a private beach. We also enjoyed being driven for free ANYWHERE on the island and the bicycle rental ($7/hr or $15 all day) was great too. The oceanfront rooms have a gorgeous view. The carpet and couch are slightly dated but who stays in the room when you are at the beach anyway? The bed and pillows were very comfy. We hope to return for our 17 year anniversary as well. You will NOT be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Happy 16th Anniversary Page M! So glad you and your hubby decided on a staycation celebration here with us in Wrightsville Beach. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff. And give our Reservations Dept a call when you're planning your next trip down. Since y'all are locals, you should come out Thursday-Saturday nights for our live music on the Oceanfront Terrace and Dive In Movie on Wednesdays! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is very clean and service is great. If you have never gone to Wrightsville Beach, it is an experience not to miss. The town is very family friendly and there are only 3 hotels in town. This Holiday Inn is more than adequate to meet your needs if you are looking to rent a hotel room there. There is a great outdoor pool area with plenty of beach chairs as well as a deck overlooking the ocean. The restaurant is great for lunch and has an outdoor area.T here is also a heated indoor pool. The rest of the town is very nice and there is a fishing pier that costs only $2. Great restaurants abound, especially the South Beach Grill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi THobert,
We thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Resort here in Wrightsville Beach. Sounds like you were able to experience a lot in Wrightsville Beach while you were here....Johnny Mercer's Fishing Pier, South Beach Grill (yummy Seafood Nachos) and of course us! There's still more explorin' to do in Wrightsville so we hope to see you again real soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
283 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We planned our scuba diving trip months ago and the dive shop recommended Holiday Inn on their web site. On arrival we knew the choice was excellent. The grounds were well kept, very friendly staff and the pools were crystal clear. We ate at the hotel that evening, and enjoyed the meal. They offered a breakfast buffet for around $12.00. We had two queen beds in each room so all had plenty of space. The rooms were ocean front and from the higher floors we had a great view of the ocean and pool area. The hot tubs were not overly crowded, so anytime was a good time. There was also an indoor pool that felt heated and was very nice.

All considered, our group felt the hotel was top shelf and considering returning next year. If you are planning on this area of NC, I would recommend choosing this Holiday Inn. You have to pay a little more, but the hotel is worth it.

There is also movie night at the pool and free popcorn, so what not to like !!

Thanks Holiday Inn for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocena front and the view is wonderful. You can hear the waves with the sliding door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank YOU Retired_NG for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review.
So glad you & your crew enjoyed your visit with us. Hope you were able to fill your Bug Bag with lots of goodies you found on your dive :o) We look forward to seeing you again next year or sooner. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

For some reason, I kept struggling with the idea of the words "Holiday Inn" and "resort" going together. Finally I got over my preconceptions and spent two nights here. The rooms may be in need of a refresh, but that's where the nitpicks stop. Location is fantastic. It's one mile from the main bar area of Wrightsvilee, and the hotel shuttle happily transports you so you don't need to find parking. Plus it keeps the party away from the hotel. Speaking of parking, the Holiday Inn has plenty, and most of it's covered. If you have young kids, the Kids Club is a huge value. One night our kid was there for the dinner party from 6-10PM for $12. They were completely secure and well cared for. The next night the hotel played a kid's movie at the pool with free popcorn. Everyone loved it. The hotel's restaurant was really good, and more importantly, well priced. Add the fact that kids eat free, and it's a home run. We were there over Memorial Day weekend, which meant the hotel was fully booked, but it never felt over-crowded. The beach crowd was definitely family-oriented in front of the hotel as well.

Sometimes near check-out time at a beach hotel, the hotels seem to run out of hot water as everyone is showering up before leaving. Not a problem here, though. As much hot water as you could want.

The only time we were letdown was at dinner one night as the restaurant was understaffed, but it was not a big deal.

I've been a big fan of the Blockade Runner and the Courtyard Marriott in Carolina Beach, but this is my new favorite. It's a much larger hotel than those other two, but if it wasn't an issue on Memorial Day weekend, then it will likely never be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Zowie! Thank you MLNC for choosing us and taking the time to leave a review.
So I guessed we exceeded your expectations huh? :o) Thanks to our great leadership and staff here our hotel has won many Intercontinental Hotels Group Torchbearer Awards and has been rated the #1 Holiday Inn in North America multiple times thanks to our guest's comments and feedback. Yay! I can't wait to tell the staff that we are your new favorite! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beach & pool environment are excellent! Staff is awesome!
Breakfast Buffett was outstanding & menu choices were also available.
Parking onsite & inside also under cover.
Are included my daughter, son-in-law, 2 grandkids (12 &15 years old) my wife & myself./

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putts6074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Putts6074,
Golfer? :o) Wow! You brought the entire family - thank you. So glad everyone enjoyed their Memorial Day weekend with us and I hope the kids got to take advantage of all our exciting amenities - Arcade, Volleyball court, Playground, Bike Rentals and of course The Beach! We can't wait to see y'all again soon! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing