We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife, 2 little kids, & I just stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. Great, super friendly staff throughout the facility. The kids loved the indoor pool & seeing the parrots Abby & Gabby during our stay. Restaurant was great as well. We had good weather & the kids spent a ton of time collecting shells out on the beach. Can't wait to come back and spend more time here when it gets a little warmer. Without a doubt, will stay here again.

Room Tip: 6th floor, NW side of building. While not oceanfront, you'll still have a great view to north o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w650dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Reservations Dept Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you w650dave for taking the time to write a review! We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Abby & Gabby say "Hello!" :o) Call our Inhouse Reservations Dept now for your summer plans 910-256-2231 as choice dates are booking up fast. We look forward to seeing y'all again soon. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    184
    43
    11
    5
See reviews for
202
173
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay twice here last year, both for 4-5 nights each time, including at near full occupancy. The front desk staff is exceptional at this hotel. They exude the manners and class a customer should expect.

The location is superb, steps away from the water and the views from the oceanfront rooms are divine. Overlooking the pool was never a problem and the rooms seem to be well soundproofed in comparison to others we have stayed in.

Our rooms were clean upon arriving during both stays. Housekeeping times vary greatly depending on the occupancy of the hotel and can be as late as 3-4pm. The oceanfront whirlpool rooms are large and very adequately sized for a family. The microwave and fridge were a great addition as was the hotel safe.

The younger poolside bar/pool staff were a bit immature on our second stay. We did observe them climbing over the bar stools/counter across the soda dispensers the bartender uses to help themselves to things instead of utilizing a door or the counter window. We did not eat at the poolside bar after witnessing this due to concerns over cleanliness. You can enjoy food at the pool or beach and enjoy it just steps away, however. Both pools were clean and tended to daily.

I would not recommend the restaurant based on our experience during both stays. There was never a wait to be seated, however the servers seemed very inexperienced and overworked and the restaurant appeared understaffed. It was not uncommon to wait 20 minutes for a water refill and there were long waits to order and receive food. They disappeared as soon as the food arrived and only returned to give you the check. Eating outside is a lovely option, but the restaurant could use some improvements in attending to customers. In comparison, the room service was exceptional and quite timely. Food arrived at the appropriate temperature and the staff exhibited the manners seen at the front desk.

The hotel would have received 5 stars had we not experienced the disappointing observation of the poolside bar and restaurant staff. Overall, we enjoyed our visit to this hotel and have rebooked for this coming Summer, but will opt to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinwithkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Reservations Dept Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear travelinwithkidz,
I have shared your compliments about the Front Desk & Housekeeping staff with them. We thank you for your honest comments and I have passed them onto our Food & Beverage Director, Joe Wilkes. I apologize for our service failure during your stay and please know the behavior you described does not meet the standards our team aims for every day. Please ask for a manager at any time during your stay. We do look forward to serving you again this summer and invite you to dine in our Oceans Restaurant & Lazy Dazy poolside bar & grill again.
Sincerely,
Amanda Rochelle
Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had adjoining rooms with our grown son when we visited. The rooms were good, the beds good & its right on the beach which was important to us. They had nice balconies too. The front desk, maids were all very pleasant. We were pleased & definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked it on the 7th floor, ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyme5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Reservations Dept Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi happyme5,
Glad we fulfilled your adjoining rooms request. I hope you were able to take time to sit & enjoy the beaming sunrise each morning from your balcony. We can't wait for your return - give our Inhouse Reservations Dept a call! 910-256-2231 Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have had spotty results with Holiday Inns in the past but this was great. The hotel room and grounds were in great shape. Very low key, relaxing atmosphere. The indoor pool was excellent. Give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Harry, thank you for your great comments! So glad we exceeded your expectations. We do have the best Indoor Heated pool - so perfect in the cold winter season. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel couple of times, not sure if it was because it was out of season but service was not great. No paper when I left at 7 each morning, only cleaning done to my room was bed made. Supper at hotel on Thursday night will be my last meal at hotel, service was good but meal was average at best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brentb1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello brentb1166…We Thank You for taking the time to share your concerns. Your remarks have been shared with the appropriate staff to review the issues that you experienced during your stay. We encourage our guest to let us know how we may become better to make your stay more pleasurable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Even though a 20 year visitor to Wrightsville on a regular basis, first time staying at this hotel. Overall very pleased with our stay. Entertainment in restaurant was nice, and meal was very good. Breakfast buffet on Sunday was very good, the omelet station was a bonus. Room was clean and everything was in good working order although bring your own hairdryer as the one in the room had very little heat and took forever to dry hair. Nice indoor pool although we were unable to use it because of all the children in it all the time. :( Great beach access and like the idea of having lounge chairs on a deck facing the ocean but away from the pool area where all the kids would be. Will definately stay again before school lets out and after school goes back.

Room Tip: Ocean front is always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncbeachgrl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Well Hello ncbeachgrl93...We are so elated that you finally decided to give us a try. Our staff takes pride in knowing that we met your expectations while visiting our Resort. We await you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A recent four-day stay was our first time at this resort, and we enjoyed it thoroughly. From the front desk staff to the bellman to the restaurant staff - all tried very hard to make our stay a memorable one. The front desk person (sorry that I didn't get her name) got our vacation off to a great start with a warm greeting and anwers to our questions. Brian, also at the front desk, made sure we had what we needed in our room when there was an item that we'd forgotten to pack.

The hotel is very nicely situated right on the ocean, and the restaurant also has a great view of the Atlantic. Our waiter,Kevin, in the Oceans Restaurant went above and beyond what is required. His friendliness and professional manner were so very much appreciated.

Our room which was oceanfront was perfectly clean and attractive, average in size, had a microwave and a decent size refrigerator. The HVAC worked well and seemed to run very quietly. The wireless connection was fast most of the time. The desk area was large and convenient with lots of outlets. Bath was quite modern with a nice granite countertop. I thought the hotel was built within the last few years but learned that it's about 12 years old. It's a very well maintained and well managed property.

If there are just a couple of small negatives, it's that the kitchen staff can often be fairly slow in getting out an order, but we were in no hurry, so that was hardy an important point for us at all. Also, in the morning, hot water in the shower can be more like warm water.


We saw another hotel/condo unit on the north end of the island but would definitly choose.to stay here at the Holida Inn if in the Wrightsville beach area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Guest Service Coordinator at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Patrema...We are so delighted that you choose our resort. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our staff and your recent stay. We look forward to your return soon. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.4 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
15.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing