We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best of Wrightsville Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best of Wrightsville Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A recent four-day stay was our first time at this resort, and we enjoyed it thoroughly. From the front desk staff to the bellman to the restaurant staff - all tried very hard to make our stay a memorable one. The front desk person (sorry that I didn't get her name) got our vacation off to a great start with a warm greeting and anwers to our questions. Brian, also at the front desk, made sure we had what we needed in our room when there was an item that we'd forgotten to pack.

The hotel is very nicely situated right on the ocean, and the restaurant also has a great view of the Atlantic. Our waiter,Kevin, in the Oceans Restaurant went above and beyond what is required. His friendliness and professional manner were so very much appreciated.

Our room which was oceanfront was perfectly clean and attractive, average in size, had a microwave and a decent size refrigerator. The HVAC worked well and seemed to run very quietly. The wireless connection was fast most of the time. The desk area was large and convenient with lots of outlets. Bath was quite modern with a nice granite countertop. I thought the hotel was built within the last few years but learned that it's about 12 years old. It's a very well maintained and well managed property.

If there are just a couple of small negatives, it's that the kitchen staff can often be fairly slow in getting out an order, but we were in no hurry, so that was hardy an important point for us at all. Also, in the morning, hot water in the shower can be more like warm water.


We saw another hotel/condo unit on the north end of the island but would definitly choose.to stay here at the Holida Inn if in the Wrightsville beach area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Guest Service Coordinator at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Patrema...We are so delighted that you choose our resort. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our staff and your recent stay. We look forward to your return soon. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    187
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
212
175
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We've stayed at the Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn several times, mostly around July 4th. Always clean (even with the challenge of beach sand), friendly and helpful service, nice pool areas. Rooms are fairly spartan, but bright and well maintained. Extremely kid friendly. Wrightsville Beach is a wonderful community, with good restaurants and nice sandy beach. The property has beautiful beach views and the intracoastal waterways. We've had rooms on the oceanfront and intracoastal sides of the hotel. Surprisingly, I enjoy the intracoastal side as much or more than oceanfront, as most rooms have partial ocean views anyway. Booked an intracoastal view room last July 4th and had spectular views of the downtown Wilmington fireworks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The service at this hotel was outstanding. The receptionist was so friendly..she offered to contact us when a room was ready since we arrived so early (10 am)...she called me at the festival and told us two rooms were ready but not adjoining and I told her that was all right. However when we got back to the hotel two adjoining rooms had become available so she automatically switched our rooms to our original request...this attention was beyond the norm.
The service offered by the shuttle employee was also fantastic,....In the midst of all the holiday flotilla traffic he was there on time..we never waited and we didn't have to walk on that cold night.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor oceanside view. The balcony offered a beautiful view of the ocean. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We happened upon this hotel when driving through the area and were blown away by it! It reminded us of a 5 star Caribbean resort with the reggae music on the patio, cool lobby, and the 2 pools. Finally a classy and truly family friendly hotel with a playground, baby pool and kids club at a good price. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRochelle, Guest Service Coordinator at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
ginny m...We are so glad that you had a wonderful time. Thank You so much for the wonderful comments. We can't wait to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not great. I expected it to be much nicer based on the reviews and outdoor appearance. It is just like every other holiday inn you have ever visited. The location is great and beach is very nice. This hotel definitely caters to families as there were plenty of kids running around. The hotel is very loud...we went during an off time and there was constant yelling and running up and down the halls. I can't imagine what it would be like in the summer. During the off season it is $200+ and I don't feel it was worth that.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront room...which was right over the pool. There was also a second balcony off the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flowers1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Others have said it well. Nice hotel right on the beach. Our room was spacious and clean (whirlpool room) with a balcony overlooking the pool and beach. It would be nice to have terry cloth robes and clothes hooks in the bathroom to hang wet bathing suits, damp jeans etc. The hospitality area off the lobby was nice. The restaurant was fine with good service and food prepared the way we ordered it. We didn't leave the hotel for two days. Parking is available (both covered garage and just outside of the hotel). If we had wanted to go out to eat elsewhere, they offered a limo service to local restaurants. We arrived a day after Sandy had passed Wilmington (no apparent damage....rains and winds, but not the destruction further north) and the weather was perfect. Cool and sunny. The whirlpools/therapy hot tubs were located outside so it is a cool "run" from the heated indoor pool area to the whirlpools, but well worth it! They have very nice ramps from the hotel to the beach with side ramps and areas with lounge chairs overlooking the beach (we noticed it was ideal for anyone using a walker or wheelchair. The beach was not crowded (end of October) and whole shells were plentiful. The pelicans were fun to watch and there were many of them. We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncnativeazalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've written in other reviews that the Wilmington-area has a serious deficiency when it comes to nice waterfront hotels. However, this hotel is the only waterfront beach hotel I would currently recommend to anyone going to the Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach area. Even my old standby, a national chain in Carolina Beach, has fallen off my list due to age and cleanliness issues, leaving the Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach as my lone choice when looking for beachfront in the area.

Lobby: I have stayed at this hotel a few times, most recently this past week. Check-in was quick, with a room upgrade given (thanks to the slow off-season). The lobby is in good shape, and I noticed that the hotel's "mascot," an adorable blue macaw, was also there to greet guests from his large cage in the lobby.

Rooms: Seem to be in very good shape given the resort's age. I had a whirlpool room, and noticed carpet fraying near the tile around the whirlpool-- so, the room could use a carpet stretching, but that was the only real obvious wear.
(For the record, I find whirlpool rooms weird, but I am sure many guests would find a whirlpool...next to a desk...enjoyable).
The bathroom was large and I felt that overall the room was quite clean.

That said, I cannot seem to go to ANY hotel these days without finding at least a few hairs from previous guests (gross, I know). From a recent stay at a Four Seasons to this Holiday Inn, it never fails for me to find hairs and this room was no exception. I did find several short hairs in the bathroom from a previous guest-- again, always travel with Clorox wipes, people.

Otherwise, I was quite pleased with the room. The bed was very comfortable with both soft and firm pillows provided (and labeled with a cute ribbon and tag). My room had a nice ocean view, and all rooms have a balcony.

Resort: Nice, clean pools (even though it was too cold to use them!); I did notice families using the hot tubs outside in lieu of the pools-- seemed to keep kids happy on a chilly November day. Bikes are for rent for $14/day, which is perfect for exploring the area. Nice stretch of beach available for walking, running, or just relaxing.

Food: I had room service every day for four days and wasn't disappointed at any time. The service was quick and everyone was extremely friendly (Kevin was the best!). The food was hot and decent quality. I had the crab-stuffed flounder with lobster sauce twice. Steak and eggs in the morning was fantastic and kept me full pretty much all day long. For a light dinner, order the hot crab dip and a side salad-- good stuff.

Other: Free wifi with stable, consistent connection, which was extremely important to me for work purposes. Towels were actually pretty decent compared to the thin, tiny, scratchy ones at competing properties. Parking is convenient and free in the property's attached garage.

All in all, good stay. For beachfront in Wilmington, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview- otherwise you get a view of the parking lot. I'd suggest a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlOnAGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.4 mi away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
15.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing