We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired old facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We just spent 4 nights at the Blockade Runner. Having grown up in the area and stayed there often, I selected the hotel for convenience, central beach location, resort reputation, and full service. We had 2 ocean view rooms at $209 + tax. I was advised by family before making reservations that the property has been/is being sold to convert to condominium-type ownership, so I asked specific questions about the quality and condition of the rooms and was assured that nothing had changed. However, routine maintenance and upkeep has been neglected. Our rooms were dingy and tired, poorly decorated and furnished, with sand and hair accumulated about the corners and doors, and bird poop on the windows. The AC never cooled the room enough to turn off. Wireless internet was a mystery we never solved. We tried to use the restaurant for lunch but were turned away because we were 5 minutes too early. We wanted to rent bicycles, but no one knew the details, and there were only 3 buried in a maintenance closet. I complained to the manager at checkout and he reduced our rate by $40 per night. I have many wonderful memories of the beach and the Blockade Runner, but will not return unless I know it has been fully renovated.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank TFandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandresort, Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2007

The hotel is not converting to condominium type ownership and has a plan to continue updating its rooms. Our resort has been providing visitors to the Wrightsville Beach area with quality accommodations and superior guest service since March 1964. In keeping with “The Island Tradition”, the Blockade Runner Resort is committed to providing each of our guests with the utmost in quality accommodations and superior guest service. Our goal is to continually improve our product and services provided so we may continue to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,243 - 2,249 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2007

The staff was very friendly and on the ball. There were a lot of smiles and greetings and none of them seemed forced or fake. The grass and the flowers were well maintained and provided a very nice area to view the ocean. We also had a great ocean view from our room. The entire place screamed relaxation and comfort. We still rave about the sushi served out of a little window that opened into the lobby. We might have to return just for that reason.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank Pookie-pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the Blockade Runner for many years and we have always enjoyed our visits. The food has always been enjoyable and the place in general is nice but not a resort. Room prices are high but to some extent acceptable.

However, we plan to change the BR as our primary choice and will look into the Holiday Inn next time. This is due to our last trip which was spoiled by very poor customer service and very poor patronage.

First, after being charged $350 per night, they requested we pay $7.50/day for “each” beach chair that we wished to use not including umbrella. After I mentioned this to the Manager, who was very arrogant, he simply brushed me off stating that was policy. He then told me we could use the chairs for free at the pool and that they also provide a courtesy shuttle for dining and shopping for free. (Pool chairs are free everywhere and any respectable hotel has a shuttle, so no big deal)

Therefore, we decided to use the free shuttle one evening, which was the biggest mistake overall. After driving us to dinner (we tipped), we were left stranded after making 4 phone calls to pick us up. (Each time explaining that they were on their way.) In the end, we had to walk back to the hotel or wait an hour for a taxi.

Once, we returned (after walking down the main highway without a sidewalk), we complained to the young man managing the front desk and he said they were busy (the drivers were out front joking around when we returned) and we should have told them to request a taxi. We said, “Why didn’t you?” He smirked at us like we were bothering him.

We are not ones to complain since we travel around the world and have many good and bad experiences, but it should be noted that the BR is in a downward spiral. The staff is mismanaged and the rooms do not coincide with the prices. We strongly suggest trying another location unless you are not concerned about room value and are not put off by an indignant staff.

We give the Food***; the Rooms**; and the service*.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank JoeOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandresort, Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2007

This is a particular hard review to read. I regret the situation that this guest experienced, we strive and will continue to accommodate all of our guests and provide the services we advertise. We offer services for free pool side and for rent beach side, and we also provide a complimentary shuttle around the area. Unfortunately we were unable to provide this service and fell short of your expectations. We will learn form this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2007

The ocean view from the room was lovely.
The food prepared in the restaurant was delicious...
The hotel itself was very average and the service was less than average.

Our first night, we chose to dine in the hotel's retaurant. A large screen TV with a soccer game surrounded by screeching fans in the bar area (same room as the dining) took any possibility of a quiet relaxed meal. We wondered if we became invisible to our waitress after she took our order. We had to ask a hostess for bread and water after 15 minutes of sitting at the table waiting for our meal We could see our waitress laughing and joking with single men in the restraurant as we waited for service. Had to ask a hostess (again) to have our waitress bring the tab. When she arrived she informed us that a 15% gratuity is automatically added to our bill. No wonder we got NO SERVICE, she knew she'd be paid anyway. Understandably, we did not eat in the restaurant again.
The rooms were average, we were hoping for something nice, this was nothing special, not exceptionally clean. We will stay elsewhere on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bigNbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandresort, Manager at Blockade Runner Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2007

Through out the summer the hotel has had no TV on at the bar or if so it would be muted. This is to separate the Lounge atmosphere from the restaurant one. We have also worked diligently in training and motivating our staff to provide first class service alongside our menu. I fully understand your frustration and appreciate the chance to improve on our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

I am getting ready to plan my summer trip and I can't wait to go back to the Blockade Runner. I had such a wonderful time last summer. The service was friendly and very efficient. Our room had a beautiful view of the grounds which were in full bloom and I have many pictures to remember how lovely they were. I enjoyed walking along the pathway trying to name the different flowers. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious. The hot tub was large and very relaxing. After enjoying the beach we went to the cabanna for lunch. The fruit plate was just what I needed after being in the sun. Transportation was provided for our dinner at a local restaurant. The next moring we enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. My stay at the Blockade
Runner was truly wonderful in all respects. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BeachfanRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

For the most part, the stay was pleasant. The lobby was not quite as nice as it appeared on the internet web page, the furniture appeared old. But the evening atmosphere, with the lit candles and pulled drapery was pleasing.
The room itself was very clean, the beds extremely comfortable. A little disappointed that there was no microwave in the room, but I should have thought to ask. Also no laundry onsite. That was an inconvenience. The guest information states there is a activity director although there were no activities to speak of. No one seemed at all knowledgeable regarding activities in the area either.
And lastly the over all attitude of the the staff I would say was "unfriendly". Hardly a smile, or even a response to a good morning hello. The valet parking attendants were the exception. They were pleasant and attentive.
All in all, if we decide to return to Wrightsville Beach, we will most likely try out one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank GeneosLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We planned a small wedding and to stay in the resort. They refused to let us hold our wedding on the beach, even though it is public, because we did not go through their wedding planner. We booked the resort and bought a permit for the beach, to later find out we were very rudely told otherwise we could not stay there. Worst experience and management Ive encountered on this beach. Dont plan a wedding at this resort!!!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank pinkaboo119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
145 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $121 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only NC luxury resort offering all waterfront rooms, the best of both sound and sea, with either Atlantic Ocean or Banks Channel Sound views. Just steps to the sand, and even closer to the sound, the waterfront balconies offer great sunrises and sets with invigorating breezes. Activities within minutes of your room: sailing, fishing, kayaking, SUP and eco-tours, a complete fitness center (including whirlpool and dry sauna), and seasonal yoga on the seaside gardens lawn. A supervised "Sandcampers" program provides crafts, evening activities, lawn games, beach fun, pool, and island excursions for children aged five until twelve. The Outdoor Patio Bar combines casual dining with spectacular views, while the award winning EAST Oceanfront Dining delivers only the freshest local seafood, lobster, delicious wine tastings, fabulous comfort food, and the ever-popular Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing