We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Blockade Runner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
1 review
“Loved the Blockade Runner”
Reviewed May 19, 2007

I am getting ready to plan my summer trip and I can't wait to go back to the Blockade Runner. I had such a wonderful time last summer. The service was friendly and very efficient. Our room had a beautiful view of the grounds which were in full bloom and I have many pictures to remember how lovely they were. I enjoyed walking along the pathway trying to name the different flowers. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was delicious. The hot tub was large and very relaxing. After enjoying the beach we went to the cabanna for lunch. The fruit plate was just what I needed after being in the sun. Transportation was provided for our dinner at a local restaurant. The next moring we enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. My stay at the Blockade
Runner was truly wonderful in all respects. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — The comfortable rooms and beautiful view
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BeachfanRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    613
    241
    98
    48
See reviews for
793
687
71
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

For the most part, the stay was pleasant. The lobby was not quite as nice as it appeared on the internet web page, the furniture appeared old. But the evening atmosphere, with the lit candles and pulled drapery was pleasing.
The room itself was very clean, the beds extremely comfortable. A little disappointed that there was no microwave in the room, but I should have thought to ask. Also no laundry onsite. That was an inconvenience. The guest information states there is a activity director although there were no activities to speak of. No one seemed at all knowledgeable regarding activities in the area either.
And lastly the over all attitude of the the staff I would say was "unfriendly". Hardly a smile, or even a response to a good morning hello. The valet parking attendants were the exception. They were pleasant and attentive.
All in all, if we decide to return to Wrightsville Beach, we will most likely try out one of the other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GeneosLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

We planned a small wedding and to stay in the resort. They refused to let us hold our wedding on the beach, even though it is public, because we did not go through their wedding planner. We booked the resort and bought a permit for the beach, to later find out we were very rudely told otherwise we could not stay there. Worst experience and management Ive encountered on this beach. Dont plan a wedding at this resort!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank pinkaboo119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

The Blockade Runner is out of paradise. We arrived early and decided to head out to the beach to take advantage of the 80 degree weather in March. The hotel lobby is an open air, appeared to be recently remodeled. The grounds on the way to the beach are very resort-like. Check in was complete in just a few minutes with no problems. Our room key did not work at first attempt, but a member of staff came up promptly to check out the situation. Upon entering the room, the sliding door had been left open allowing the ocean breezes to fill the room. It was simply amazing. The room was extra clean. The room had obviously been recently renovated. The shower was amazing as well with a window so you could actually see the ocean from the shower.....we thought we were in the tropics. The hotel is in a great location near local restaurants and not far from Downtown Wilmington. Check out was a snap and we were on our way. I would definitely choose the Blockade Runner again. Rates are reasonable and clean rooms.

  • Liked — grounds were well maintained and the rooms were awesome
  • Disliked — dingy hallways outside the room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeeboi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We stayed here for a wedding in November and were very impressed with the bridal suite, except for the sunrise at 6 a.m. over the Atlantic. They should have blackout shades, but don't. My family members stayed in the cottage and wouldn't recommend it. It is dirty and they had to call 3 times to get the heater fixed. Staff is incompetent, especially valet. My family owns a home here, so this was my only hotel experience there. South Beach Grill is one of my favorite seafood restaurants in the world. Not fancy, but fresh and delicious.

  • Liked — bridal suite with 2 person jetted tub
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenniferhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
137 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing