We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for Romance/Solo/Planned Singles Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Branford, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for Romance/Solo/Planned Singles Gathering”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

A great spot for planning a Singles Event, a solo retreat, or enjoying with someone you love. Most important in any business now is service and the Blockade Runner's staff excel in professionalism, friendliness, efficiency, and hospitality! The decor in their new lobby and their pool patio is very inviting, colorful, and comfortable. The canopied double wicker couches circled in groups of four amidst the colorful garden and tables on the pool decks near the long outdoor bar create a natural socializing area or for snuggling. Nestled between the ocean with a very long stretch of beach and the harbor with another beach and lawn area, we had a choice of flowing waves or calm waters and a view of sunrise and sunset. The complimentary breakfast far surpassed expectations! The rooms were spacious and clean. This wonderfully aesthetic and social treasure that we discovered as a 1 night rest spot on the way to Myrtle Beach will be a future destination...and we'll bring many of our friends!

Room Tip: The harbor side balcony view is more varied and entertaining and equeally soothing as the typical oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyStar-knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    598
    234
    96
    46
See reviews for
765
672
70
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is the second year my wife and I have stayed there for the Carolina Cup(a very large paddle board race), as well as numerous stays throughout the year. As a very active couple, we love staying at the Blockade Runner because it lends itself to so many outdoor activities. We have also encouraged other likeminded friends to stay at the property because we always have such a great experience here. However, this time our experience there was not so pleasant. It had nothing to do with their excellent staff, their amenities or the race, but had everything to do with the horrid woman who owns the hotel. I witnessed the rudest, most unprofessional manor in which someone could treat their staff and guests. My wife and I were sitting at the pool bar and even saw her screaming at a woman with a service dog!! Specifically due to this unfortunate experience, we will be finding other accommodations on Wrightsville Beach in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was nice hotel. Rooms typical beach hotel room, but who worries about a room when you're at the beach. This hotel is right on the beach. Excellent pool and professional staff. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 325 has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, IL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Blockade Runner this April. As we drove into the parking lot, the building did not present itself very well. It's rather old and there is nothing to be done about that. I will say that every effort has been made to keep it well painted and clean. Our room was not ready (we were early) and in our warm winter clothing we walked through the lobby to the beach area for a drink. (no mint to make a mojito). We had flown in from the frozen north and here it was in the 80's and we were stuck in our cold weather clothing for 3 hours until our room was ready. I realize we were early, but couldn't an effort be made to prepare a room in a more speedy fashion when people are waiting for it? One more negative item and then on to the positive. The lobby area is such a missed opportunity. There is a large airy space that is jam packed with the strangest uninviting furniture ever to be seen, I am so sorry I didn't take a picture. It looks like something out of Alice in Wonderland after the Mad Hatter's tea party. I would get rid of all that silly furniture and fuzzy pillows and create a space that could be used to hang out on a rainy day, read a book, check e-mails or work a puzzle.

Once we got our room and changed clothes and freshened up, yes, everything looked up. We requested a room on the fourth floor with a balcony and this is what we got. Beautiful view and excellent balcony. It had a comfortable lounge chair and bar table and chairs at the perfect height so the railing didn't block the view. This is why we came, to enjoy the ocean. At night we realized there was no screen on the door and with the lights on, every bug from miles around came flying into our room. Be forewarned about that. Room was nice, beds very comfortable everything very clean, good pillows. No noise from neighbors. Bathroom - no tub and the worst shower ever. It comes straight down out of the ceiling making it impossible not to get your head drenched if you were not planning on washing your hair.

I will say every staff member we encountered was very friendly and always gave us a smile. The breakfast included is exceptional and the coffee really good. The ocean is the thing here and you can't beat that, the walkway to the beach is lovely and nicely landscaped. The pool area is okay, nothing special. One thing I would add is, if you are facing the sound side, although it overlooks the parking, the view is still really pretty.

Room Tip: Only a part of the building has actual balconies. If that is important, be sure not to get a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Staff were all friendly and courteous. Our room was a king with a balcony. It was clean but our toilet seemed to be 'slow' in flushing our evening there. We were celebrating our anniversary/birthdays and brought a bottle of wine. We forgot our own corkscrew. I called the front desk to also ask for another blanket and the cork screw. Got the blanket but when I went down to ask the desk about the cork screw, he told me they didn't have any left that were available. I went to the restaurant with the bottle and they opened it for me. The hotel itself is old and our hallway made me feel like I was in a smelly dormitory.The shower was nice with a view of the ocean but they don't tell you that you also view your entire room (the bathroom is set in the back of the room) so who ever is in the room can see you shower if you want the ocean view. The bathroom is so tiny you cannot fit two people to brush your teeth. (now I know why no pictures of the bathroom are listed with this room- beware) The bed was rather loose and moved around too much. It was a weird mix- some of the common areas were old and reminded me again of the dormitory (like the hallway) and others were pushed into the over modern décor. The bar was nice but was very limited in its selection. I expected better. The restaurant had great service, however when people were finished eating the tables just weren't cleared and cleaned up (we were there over an hour) I did a restaurant review and while the food tasted really good, some of the options were not available to us which was disappointing. It would have been nice to have some lighting as it was getting darker in the outside seating area. The atmosphere dining was weird- we were dressed for a romantic dinner and yet next to us were sand covered bathing suit folks- which is fine if it wasn't 24$ for a dish. If you plan a nice romantic dinner- don't expect it. If you get it- that is awesome, we did not. The pool area was really beautiful and access to the beach was lovely. You pay for the beach front that is for sure. Everything was almost very good- its like they just aren't quite there for the money you pay. The ending was horrible though- the toilet finally broke at 10am and was unusable the morning we were checking out. We told the cleaning lady on our way out the door and she called maintenance. I would have been ok with everything if our room was more around 200$. Just too much money spent and not the quality expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gozling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Most important in any business now is service and the Blockade Runner's staff excel in professionalism, friendliness, efficiency, and hospitality! The decor in their new lobby and their pool patio is very inviting and comfortable. The canopied double wicker couches circled in groups of four amidst the colorful garden and tables on the pool decks near the long outdoor bar create a natural socializing area. Nestled between the ocean with a very long stretch of beach and the harbor with another beach and lawn area, we had a choice of flowing waves or calm waters and a view of sunrise and sunset. The complimentary breakfast far surpassed expectations! The rooms were spacious and clean. This wonderfully aesthetic and social treasure that we discovered as a 1 night rest spot on the way to Myrtle Beach will be a future destination...and we'll bring many of our friends!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank curt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Whether you have the ocean view and the glorious sunrise or the bay view and the sunset, there are no rooms without spectacular seaside views. I was most impressed with the lawn between the hotel and beach where kids were having a great time playing. A hot buffet breakfast is included which is an added bonus. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
133 reviews
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing