We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day at "Our beach house"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our tenth visit in three years. We consider Blockade Runner our beach house. The staff is wonderful, cooperative and friendly. The front desk managers Nick and Andi are always helpful and have become our friends. The breakfast is fresh and dinners at the restaurant are well prepared under the direction of Roger, who is friendly and always willing to help. The servers are great and remember us whenever we come, especially Tommy!!
The lobby has been totally redone and is beautiful. Our room is always clean and has a beautiful ocean view. There was a great performance by one of the original "Platters". The owners of this property live on or near the property and we had the opportunity to meet Mary, one of the owners, and she was extremely warm and friendly. I am certain the reason this place is so wonderful.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,153)
There are newer reviews for Blockade Runner Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,630 - 1,636 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

We really liked the Blockade Runner. Although we went in the winter so we didn't get to enjoy the pool area. I really like the setup around the pool. Very nice looking. We didn't eat the breakfast so I cant comment on that. Will definitely return in the summertime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Beautiful outside property and the lobby is done very cute. Really I think other places in Wrightsville pale in comparison when it comes to the grounds (FYI pool is on the small side). The bell hops are awesome, my experience with the front hotel staff was less than stellar. I think we had someone helping us that was very new and was not very accommodating.

The rooms are underwhelming with hard beds, tough towels, and small bathrooms. If you have a wheelchair for the room we stayed at you would be hard pressed to get in because the doorways are small (I am sure they have rooms to accommodate but it was just not ours). Great shuttle service and random cat roaming the property :).

Great location, would stay again but would make sure I got an upper level room away from the elevator. Also would try to get an oceanfront room in the building closer to the water for a better view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meridith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We decided to stay here during our 3-day honeymoon. There was a small problem checking in , but they were very good about straightening it out. We had an Oceanside 6th floor room which was nice, but not what I would call great. It was very clean, however, and had a wonderful king-size bed. We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant, preferring to venture out and eat in local restaurants (take the short drive into Wilmington for shopping and a great selection of restaurants - try Indochine). However, we did go down to the breakfast buffet (which came with the room) early in the mornings, and I must say, there was a large selection to choose from, and the food was excellent. My wife loves flowers and the landscaping around the resort is beautiful. There is an outdoor pool which is ample, but not olympic size. We enjoyed swimming up the "canal" that leads to the indoor hot tub (great for my aching knees). Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Don't get a Soundside room. The sound is pretty far off and your view will be mostly of the par...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David18748947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We (two of us) were checked in very quickly and staff seemed courteous. The lobby is very nice (with one or two unusual art choices) with a view back into a well-landscaped pool area. The ocean is not directly visible from the lobby.

We had a "Club Harbor" (ie. "above the 3rd floor) room on the 7th floor overlooking the harborside, and we stayed there through MLK weekend. The room was great, clean, etc., probably a 8.5-9 on a 1-10 scale considering our expectations and what we paid. There was another room on the floor that had some kind of water leak, but I don't know anything more about it than that.

Breakfast buffet was good, except for the biscuits and gravy which were actually pretty exceptional imo. Much of our satisfaction comes from the buffet being free with the room; I wouldn't say it's worth the $15 it supposedly costs. Maybe $10$11; there's no waffle maker or beverage station (waitresses bring beverages) or warm maple syrup.

We expected the place to be deserted given that it was 40-50 degrees that weekend, but there was some kind of paddleboat race going on so there were a fair amount of guests. The hotel seems to host lots of events; there was one on Friday and on Saturday. We never ended up eating at their restaurant for anything besides breakfast. It goes without saying that we didn't try out their pool (although the hot tub was quite nice).

Random Notes:
Parking lot seemed a little small for the size of the hotel, but I can understand land being at a premium on the island. We never had a problem with parking during our stay though. Our floor had a slight musty odor in the hallway (not in the room), probably because it was carpeted. Another floor with hardwood floors that we saw didn't have the odor.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunset (in winter, anyway), there's no need to splurge on a 7th floor roo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Celebrating an anniversary with my wife in Wilmington this weekend and decided to stay at Blockade Runner again. We have stayed in past with our kids on a college move in weekend and had a pleasant family stay. This time I opted to stay in the ocean stateroom....full walkout balcony with fireplace and room for comfy lounge furniture. Full room size sliding glass doors offered beautiful view of ocean. Situated centrally between both piers on Wrightsville Beach. It was an incredibly COLD weekend, but the room was nice and toasty. I contacted the desk before my visit and asked them to arrange a floral delivery....they successfully contacted a local florist and had a dozen red roses waiting for our arrival and even had rose petals on the floor and bed spread. Bonus points for the staff. There was a malfunctioning elevator, but it was 20 degrees too! They fixed that and went the extra mile to earn our business in the future.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The retro design and decoration was very tasteful, elegant and modern–not dated. The room was comfortable and luxurious, the view incredible. My fiance and I were engaged out on the nearby Oceanic pier (one of the best restaurants in the vicinity), which is a short walk down the street or beach. Everything about our stay at the BR was perfect from food, to service and comfort. We will return many times, I am sure, so it's nice that we sort of stumbled upon the most affordable (and best) resort in Wrightsville. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank culturegetter517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
137 reviews
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $126 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing