We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean view”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We came here for an Easter get away. The weather was a bit cool so we were inside a lot. The hotel was delightful, clean, modern decor, big Tv and two extremely comfy chairs to view the big blue ocean, The breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for. They could have stood one more server this morning but you can't find good help. Oh and the room had tile floors which was fine but I would have brought bedroom shoes if I would have known. Otherwise, nice place and grounds. Staff went above and beyond in most cases.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    601
    238
    97
    47
See reviews for
772
678
70
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The service was great and everyone was very friendly. When we got there we were upgraded to a balcony room which made it even better. The views of the beach were really great and the rooms were very clean and comfortable, expect for the mattress which was a bit uncomfortable. It was a nice walking distance from the bars and restaurants so we did not have to drive everywhere. The front desk helped us organize and SUP lesson during our stay and the company they used was wonderful, Wrightsville SUP. The breakfast they offered was wonderful as well. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our 3 day stay this past week was a perfect visit to a wonderful beach at this very pleasant hotel. We had a sound-view, double-queen room on the 6th floor for the first 2 nights and moved to an oceanfront, double-queen terrace room on the 3rd night. Both rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable with attractive and up-to-date furnishings. Bedding was comfortable, including the silky sheets. Both rooms had a fridge, kuerig coffee maker, and flat screen TV. The sound-view room had comfortable chairs that afforded wonderful views of Banks Channel through a large sliding door that opened to a juliette balcony. The oceanfront room likewise had 2 comfy chairs looking at the ocean plus a surprisingly large deck with a chaise lounge, table and 2 chairs. (From the 4th floor, the ocean view was unencumbered, but lower floors could have a restricted view due to foliage.)

The room included a breakfast buffet that was very good and extensive. Eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and a selection of breads and pastries were very satisfying. The bar was kind of small and not very exciting, but it was only a short (about ¼ mile) walk to the center of Wrightsville Beach where an excellent Mexican restaurant (Tower 7) and a good bar (Jerry Allen’s) can be found.

The staff in every situation were very friendly and accommodating. They offered complimentary valet parking but self-parking was just as convenient. You have to order ice by the bucket (no charge except for tip), but service was quick.

We’ll definitely go back because of the value, quality, and location.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for the best views. Sound view is more interesting to us than ocean front si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tslthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at Blockade Runner a few weeks ago, unfortunately only for one night. Cool vibe feel in the lobby and front desk staff was very helpful. Great views from the rooms--you either get ocean or inlet views, regardless views of the water. Rooms had tile flooring which I personally loved and were very clean with cool bathrooms. Pool and cabanna area need a little work (a little worn down), but besides that it was good. Big grass area overlooking the ocean and easy beach access. Very accommodating to paddleboarding and surfing, which is awesome. And great complimentary breakfast buffet setup. Overall, exceptional experience here. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Blockade Runner is wonderful all year but my favorite time is in the spring before tourist season. Just returned from a delightful weekend with three other couples. We enjoyed great breakfast buffet with a wide variety of choices and a fine dinner with delicious desserts to choose from. Clean, quiet room with a great view of sunsets on the sound side and very friendly and helpful staff!

Room Tip: I prefer the sound side for watching the gorgeous sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were returning North after 3+ weeks in the South and I wanted to stay in Wilmington for the night. The hotels downtown were booked so we decided on Wrightsville and the ocean instead. I'm so glad we landed at the Blockade Runner as I would definitely return here for a longer period of time. We had a spacious, lovely room overlooking the ocean for $124; what I would consider a bargain even in off-season. There is a large pool and a walk way to the beach and large outdoor patio and seating areas. There is a bar and restaurant on site which was hopping due to a business event going on. We had dinner at their East Oceanfront Restaurant which had a limited winter menu but the food was very good. We had the flounder and lobster bisque - very nice. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it is excellent. They have a large buffet with 2 kinds of eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast, breads, cereals, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy. There is a wait staff who bring coffee and juices. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed at both dinner and breakfast, perhaps due to it being so busy but they kept up and provided good service.

I liked this place a lot and would like to return for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoldenKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel was an older one. I was a little nerves when we pulled up. The lobby was nice and the front desk staff were very friendly. We were on the third floor with ocean view beautiful! The room was very clean and had two queen beds with plenty of room around them. The bathroom had a wonderful shower head. Right outside the bathroom was a nice additional counter with a mirror so if someone was using the bathroom you could continue to get ready. They also gave you soap and shampoo from bath and body works which was really nice. The room also had a refrigerator and coffeemaker. The only thing I think they could improve in the room would be to get new towels they were not soft and didn't absorb well. They also didn't have ice on the floor. You had to call for it. They have an amazing free breakfast buffet.?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sburk2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
133 reviews
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing