We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I felt like a royal...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I felt like a royal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a wonderful Resort! My family and I had a great time at the Blockade runner. From the friendly Vale Service to the amazing amenities we felt like rich people. I took Yoga in the morning by the ocean and then had a 60 min massage in my room on the patio to hear the ocean. All in all we were so sad to leave. The rooms are totally updated and the bathrooms are very nicely done. I can remember coming here as a child and the place has done a 180 degree in upgrades since then. I cried when we left. Thank you again for a memorable vacation. We WILL be coming back there again soon!

Room Tip: pay the extra for the room with a balcony but be sure to ask for floors 3 and up to avoid the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMelanieWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    563
    217
    91
    45
See reviews for
712
646
64
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

“The Good” - Its apparent Blockade Runner has made strides in updating and refurbishing in their efforts to be a 4/5 star hotel. Our room was pleasant, spacious, and clean and a beautiful view. The staff was very nice. Great lounge!

“The Bad” - The hallways are hot, humid and have a damp smell to them

“The Ugly” – At $250 per night you expect exceptional service. First, we requested (more than once) a working iron be sent to our room. We had to roam the halls to find it ourselves. Second, towels were not replenished, requested more be delivered, again no response. And…no one offered to help with luggage. All Unacceptable!

Lastly, upon departure we relayed all this information and all we received in return was a “We apologize”

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherlea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and we loved it. The location was ideal and the view from our room was wonderful. From the front desk staff to the breakfast servers, the customer service was excellent. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueJay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a great stay this past weekend. I brought my 12 year old and 9 year old and they loved it. The rooms were clean, and updated, the linens were great and the view from our room was amazing. The staff was incredibly helpful and the food was very good. We also brought my 89 year old Grandma who cried when she saw the ocean from our balcony as it's been a while since she has seen it; we both got the ocean front room with terrace and it was worth every penny. We were also able to bring her down in her wheelchair to sit on Banks Channel in the shade under the gazebo. We would stay here again....Wrightsville Beach is one of the prettiest beaches on the east coast. The gym was perfect and had good equipment. The only complaint is the price of the cocktails by the pool, 15.00 for a frozen drink is a NYC price point. Lastly, the grounds are absolutely amazing, the large lawns that are welcoming to the kids staying there were perfect for an end of the day soccer match....this is the best hotel on the beach, by far.

Room Tip: If you can afford the ocean front terrace, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a great family weekend at the Blockade Runner. The location was so convenient to walk to the beach, the harbor, and dinner. The food at the resort was also very good. Nice hot breakfast buffet. The tile floors made the rooms seem cleaner, and no musty smell like a lot of waterfront hotels. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This August was my eleventh vacation staying at the Blockade Runner. It became our home away for home. They have the best location on the beach. Everyone working there is so nice
and will go out of there way to make sure you have a wonderful vacation. We stay in the oceanfront room with a full balcony. We love sitting outside day or night and hear the ocean.
Talk about relaxing! They have a full breakfest every morning and the hot foof is great. It is included with your room. The room is always clean and that's not easy for all the sand you bring from the beach. I have brought family and friends and they all loved it. My family and I are looking forward to many more vacations at this hotel. (P.S. the dolphins must love this hotel to they are always swimming by the hotel.)

Room Tip: The oceanfront balcony has a big room and you can sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I love the Blockade Runner mostly because of many happy memories spent here with family. The rooms (ours on the 7th floor) had been updated and was really lovely. Harbor and ocean views are equally stunning. The hot tub area needs an update. The sauna was broken. The restaurant was a lovely dinner surprise - we enjoyed it very much. The included breakfast is very nice, however the hours are too short, especially on weekends. Saturday & Sunday breakfast ends at 9:30 which is inconvenient on vacation and leads to a huge cluster of people at 9:20. At least stay open until 10 on the weekends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSL2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing