We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Wedding Site!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My daughter who resides in Wilmington, NC, wanted to be married near the Ocean. She looked at several places and fell in love with the Blockade Runner and about a year ago booked reservations with them as the site of her wedding. There were a lot of unknowns to us as we don't plan weddings everyday (actually this is our first!). The wedding coordinator assured us that all will go well and that she would personally see to it that it ran smoothly. A few months before the wedding was to take place my daughter learned that she had retired! We were a little skeptical about this until we met Whitney the new wedding coordinator. Whitney was wonderful and during the days before the wedding she and my daughter went over details, the rehearsal, the interface between the photographer, florist, baker, etc. The day of the wedding was well organized, and each component interfaced smoothly. Whitney took the pressure off and the hotel staff was gracious and always on hand to answer a question, provide a service, make a phone call, call a cab, etc. Our rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The restaurant was a true gem providing a menu with many seafood specialties. I chose the Local NC Flounder which came crispily browned over a mound of rice. It had a tangy lemon flavor which complimented the tender fish. It was a generous portion but was so good I could have eaten another one (though I would have had a difficult time getting out of my chair). In the morning we were greeted by a complimentary breakfast which was really a breakfast smorgasbord of eggs, pancakes, sausages, bacon, grits, cereals, yogurts, fruits, and a Mexican burrito made with eggs and sauce. Waiters brought orange juice and pots of freshly made steaming coffee. We stayed three days and thoroughly enjoyed it. I would go back again for a vacation there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the harbor side which has a charm of its own. It is less expensive but you see water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bevi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,919 - 1,925 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to find a nice place to spend the weekend and she suggested Blockade Runner. She had stayed there before, but this was my first visit. It was a fantastic idea. The staff treated us like royalty and made our stay that much more enjoyable. The large spacious room was clean and refreshing after a hot day on the beach. I especially liked the service we received while on the beach (drinks/food). Can't find that anywhere these days. Everyone greeted us with a smile. The included breakfast was the best I've seen. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family and will be visiting them again...soon.

Room Tip: Save some money and choose a room facing the Intracoastal Waterway. Watch the boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gpnlsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and two kids stayed at the Blockade Runner for two nights in June. We were impressed with the updates they have made. The common areas were nicely updated and very clean. The rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable and bathrooms were nicely arranged. I found that most of the staff went out of their way to help you with the exception of the conceirge who seemed rather rude when I asked her if there was a business center. There was no business center and the hotel could use one. I tried several times to get connected to the internet through the hotel free wifi on my Kindle but no luck. Other than that it was a terrific stay. Plenty of hotel pool towels, the beach was beautiful and we enjoyed the drinks at the beach bar. We had dinner in the restaurant at the hotel and the food and service were top notch. We will be back again. One more suggestion I would make would be to have the complimentary breakfast hours extend to around 10:30 instead of ending at 9:30.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kms37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been several more times since my last review and I still have to give them a 5* review! Hubby and I went in January with another couple to celebrate hubby's birthday. Of course it helped that the weather was BEAUTIFUL (nice golfing day!) but beyond that the staff was most excellent as always! The hotel was full (very large group was there) and bustling especially for January :) We were checked in with smiles and welcomes and were able to check in early. In our room we found a wonderful welcome from the staff (Champagne, chocoloate covered strawberries and fresh flowers!) wishing my hubby a Happy Birthday and welcoming us back! The Valet guys drove us to and from dinner both nights and were just awesome! (it's a nice touch especially if you are celebrating and don't want to drink and drive) We over induldged on the huge breakfast buffet and on snacks in the bar later. We especially love the seafood nachos and the guac!
A couple of months later my kids and I went down for an impromptu visit b/c the weather was so nice. Again, wonderful service and we thoroughly enjoyed dinner outside at East - Chef Mark did a fabulous job on steak and crab cakes (all crab, no filler!). We got our fill of sun, sea and sand and were looking forward to our next visit. Which was Memorial Day weekend. Again, a full house and all hands were on deck to serve the guest! Lunch at the Tiki Bar was delicious (burgers and fresh flounder filets!) and the service excellent - especially with so many people! Wow - the staff worked extra hard! Lots of activities on the lawn (and inside in the a/c - arts and crafts was moved in there and it was really nice) for all to enjoy. and we always sleep so well here. The beds are very comfy! I appreciate that they don't have those "polyester bedspreads" that all the other hotels have - ewww! I always take ours off the bed upon arrival. (BR provides blankets in the closet but we've never needed them) While the BR might not be brand new they certainly do a great job of "remodeling" every year or so - it's a hotel at the beach people - humidity is an issue. I've stayed at just about all the hotels on Wrightsville Beach and NONE compare to the Blockade Runner for the location (you can walk to restaurants, shopping, etc...), the beautiful breath-taking grounds, the service and the SIZE of the rooms. They are much larger than any other on the beach. The family that owns the BR is always on site and responds well to recommendations or complaints. They've instilled the same their staff. My recommendation is: Sit back and enjoy your stay, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Rooms oceanside are very nice b/c of the view, but a room oceanside provides the most beautiful suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncitalian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Old hotel that has a modern facelift - great beach location, great outdoor space. Pretty pricey for what you get but not a huge selection of hotels on the beach...Thin walls

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've lived here in NC for 15 years and go to the beach at least once or twice a year. For some reason, I'd not stayed at Blockade Runner until last week. I took my 9- and 8-year-old granddaughters and my youngest daughter and her friend (both 15). Roomy, updated, very clean. Pool, hottub, sauna, and of course the beach. The activities offered to the little girls were perfect. Kayaking across the street. We never had to leave the hotel for anything. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncwriter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I am a travel agent and just stayed at the BR. Those looking at the pretty pictures on the internet should beware - it's not all what it seems. Reality, it's an old beach hotel that has had a little bit of cosmetic (modern) surgery. It is highly overpriced, but that might possibly be the market. And in fairness to them, there is not a lot of choices at Wrightsville Beach.
BREAKFAST - this is included in your price and it's there at $25/person. So a family of four pays $100. At best it is a mediocre buffet, which should be closer to $12. We had dinner there as well and it was better, not great, but much better.
FACILITIES - everything is hard - the beds are hard (3 nights of bad sleep), the pool furniture is hard. I mentioned at the beginning that it is an old hotel - the elevators are old, the HVAC units are old (and very noisy). It's very obvious what has had lipstick put on it.
SERVICE - They did do a good job with this. The staff was very friendly and they hire very cute yound folks.
VALUE - I felt that I paid twice the value

So, beware (and/or set your expectations extremely low)
John Tabor

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnTabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
140 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
432 reviews
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $122 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only NC luxury resort offering all waterfront rooms, the best of both sound and sea, with either Atlantic Ocean or Banks Channel Sound views. Just steps to the sand, and even closer to the sound, the waterfront balconies offer great sunrises and sets with invigorating breezes. Activities within minutes of your room: sailing, fishing, kayaking, SUP and eco-tours, a complete fitness center (including whirlpool and dry sauna), and seasonal yoga on the seaside gardens lawn. A supervised "Sandcampers" program provides crafts, evening activities, lawn games, beach fun, pool, and island excursions for children aged five until twelve. The Outdoor Patio Bar combines casual dining with spectacular views, while the award winning EAST Oceanfront Dining delivers only the freshest local seafood, lobster, delicious wine tastings, fabulous comfort food, and the ever-popular Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing