We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Mom's 90th Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent a wonderful three days back at the Blockade Runner. My husband and I refer to this place as our beach house that we always dreamed about.
The staff is incredibly friendly and remembered us from our last visit in December. The rooms are beautiful and exceptionally clean and newly renovated. The chief chef, Mark, is not only a master chef, but a wonderful person. There is no reason to leave the resort for any meals since breakfast comes with your rental and lunch and dinner menus are fabulous. Roger, the restaurant manager is so cooperative and such a nice person. The servers Julia, Brittany, Kylie, Sara and Nicky and all others are so friendly and cooperative. The front desk staff can help out with any info you may need under the guidance of the managers, Nick and Andie who are fabulous and very helpful. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the beach is a little bit of heaven.
We plan on returning many times. There are few places around that have it all!!

Room Tip: Be sure you get a renovated room. Oceanfront is fabulous. If you love lobster, every Friday is lobs...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,158)
There are newer reviews for Blockade Runner Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,908 - 1,914 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have been going to the br for years. This is the first year that It has fallen short and we will probably try the holiday inn on the other end of the beach next time. They have significantly raised their prices since last year...$50 extra for an ocean view. They also now call all rooms balcony rooms...but the majority just have a gate up against the window. This seems to be new because there were many people downstairs complaining that they had booked a balcony room only to find a gated window. Breakfast buffet is still really good and now is included with all rooms...good idea. Before you had to buy a package which never made sense. Pool wait staff is extremely friendly...reception staff...not so much. We had a constant leak (drip drip drip) in the shower that wasn't fixed during our stay. At one point they came up to tell us it was leaking into the room below...but then never did anything to fix it???! A/c was not working on the entire floor...the entire time...and it was 80 outside. I believe they just renovated this hotel in 2008...but the paint is peeling...ceilings are cracking...we had cracks and rust in our shower...hallways are very rundown and dirty. They have definitely cut corners on menu items...especially out by the pool. The prices are the same but where they used to have real bacon..it is now immitation bits...fresh veggies...now canned..etc. they also used to have a lot of frozen drinks and ice cream by the pool which the kids loved...but no longer offer any except alcohol free versions of adult drinks for $10.

We have been going here for over 10 years and this is the first year we have been disappointed....it seems to really be going downhill. I am not sure if it is new management or what...but this used to be a great boutique hotel on the beach with a bit of luxury...now it is just overpriced and dingy. Much better options on wrightsville than this. So sad to see what has happened to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowers1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family and I throughly enjoy every stay at the Blockade Runner Resort. Every time we do have an issue that needs resolving, it is done with the utmost professional service. We cannot compliment the staff at the Blockade Runner enough. The rooms are thoroughly clean and the attention to detail is something we always notice. Our perference of rooms are on the premium side with balconies facing the ocean. As avid beachgoers who love to read and enjoy coffee, this makes such a relaxing enviroment in which to do so. We have stayed as a couple, taken out of state friends and of course, our children and grandchildren so it is friendly to guest of all kinds. Try it out! Blockade Runner is the epitomy of true North Carolina hospitality!

Room Tip: Having stayed at the resort multiple times now throughout the years, we highly recommend upgrading t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The best part of the resort was the staff. They were exceptionally helpful and friendly. While sitting out by the pool the staff would come by and ask if you needed anything. They served drinks and appetizers by the pool. The front desk staff offered great suggestions for meals and were always attentive. Any requests that were made were immediately accomodated. The guys that worked the valet parking were exceptional as well. Because of the exceptional service I really didn't mind tipping because they earned it.
The room had been remodeled and had the bare necessities. The bathroom was a little small, but it met our needs. The faucets should be replaced to meet the updates. I would have liked to have had a microwave, but there was a small fridge, coffemaker and iron/iron board. The temperature of the room was fine and the maid service did well considering the mess we left that they had to clean around.
I recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose the upgraded rooms and the ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My daughter and I loved the Blockade Runner. The room was clean and bright with a nice size bathroom and mini fridge. We needed a place to hang our hat while looking at colleges. We didn't have a balcony but we had a great view of the ocean with a sliding window that actually opened. Staff is friendly and extremely helpful, I know we will be back. We also had a great meal at Tower 6 about a block away that the front desk recommended. If you aren't sure and have scrolled down and read reviews that didn't sound that positive, well we did that also and almost didn't stay here. I am so glad we took a chance because this place is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I can not find the words to tell you how beautiful and elegant this hotel is..While traveling looking at colleges for my son I was lucky enough to find this treasure. The hotel reminded me of hotels I have stayed at while on the islands.Enjoy!

Room Tip: chose either ocean front or harbor side both are wonderful
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our kids loved the Blockade Runner. They have two large lawns ocean side where guests can either play volleyball/soccer or just relax. The rooms have been nicely renovated and are very spacious. Overall, the hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly, the view was amazing and there's a lot to do within walking distance. The only complaint is that the towels were a little rough; however, they provided comfy bathrobes which I thought was a nice touch. Blockade Runner is our new favorite place at the beach!

Room Tip: Ocean side is worth the extra $$.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
138 reviews
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $125 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing