We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food. Terrific chef. Great dining experience.”

22 North Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
22 North Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Birmingham
Description: Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Terrific chef. Great dining experience.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

22 north is a long time favorite. Wrightsville beach is lucky to have such a terrific chef. The menu changes nightly and us brought to you tableside by your server. Appetizers soups salads entrees will change depending on the catch if the day and the chefs creation. The service us great and the kitchen us willing to accommodate requests. Breads are amazing too. It's hard to choose because there are so many good things on the menu and nothing ever disappoints. Give this place a try and you will be pleased!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    69
    25
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not going back”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a couple of appetizers and beers to get a feel for the place. The crawfish mac and cheese was a complete fail. Diluted cream with shrimp base and frozen ravioli. Next were the baked oysters. On the half shell caked in Chinese five spice with some diced bell peppers....seriously? Service was horrible as well. I had to get the door man's attention to get my check. I don't usually leave reviews but after this experience I owe it to the people considering dining at this establishment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor8780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh food and new menu daily”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place serves a lot of seafood and changes the menu daily...it is on a chalkboard brought straight to your table. Fresh fish and decent atmosphere...does smell like a "beach restaurant". Our server was a little out of it and couldn't really tell us a whole lot about the sides. Great scallops and the grouper was good (a little overcooked but good). Rock star potatoes and good drink prices. Awesome coconut shrimp. Good for a nice dinner not necessarily super dressy (it is the beach!). Would go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meridith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really disappointing flavors”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This is one where TA steered me wrong. The reviews are nothing like what's happening at this place --- food wise. Service is friendly, but the food was uninspired and then frustratingly below expectations. They basically ruined a swordfish steak by bathing it in some buttery something that had lousy flavors and the steak was indistinguishable. The alligator strips were decent and the beer selection okay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Potamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food was outstanding!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are like me and are more concerned with the quality of food and service as opposed to the atmosphere this is the restaurant to go to! The alligator was tender and delicious, scallops were cooked to perfection and the key lime pie was to die for. I will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mssierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 North Restaurant also viewed

 
Wrightsville Beach, NC
 

Been to 22 North Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing