We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality from the chef.”

22 North Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
22 North Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Birmingham
Description: Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great quality from the chef.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food came out a litttle slow but you felt like it was made special for just us. Very good quality . Atmosphere was a little grungy so the food quality was a surprise and definately a good value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smsAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    69
    25
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“VERY unique entrees!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The menu (on a chalk board and brought to the table) was very limited and changes daily (but you can order from bar menu too for standard stuff. The food was amazing but it felt like they took normal dishes and kept only the name and main ingredient. The food was SO unrecognizable from any "standard" entree of the same, that it really made an impression (a good one but note to picky people - you may be surprised that your food doesn't match what you were expecting to see). The prices were pretty high I thought - but again - the food was amazing and it was SO memorable! The location is great!! Recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KindredSpirit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bacon Wrapped Scallops app”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Okay we were there off season...Order the Bacon Wrapped Scallops app. and then stop there, they were very tasty and we could have ordered two sets...the bread basket had a variety of yummy breads...
We had the Bronzed Catfish...it was tasty...the shrimp and grits, it changes style, the one I had uses a BBQ sauce...shrimp tasted off...grits not that great...Funny, taste is so subjective....think I will try somewhere else next time...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tasteless”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went here based on good reviews, but was very disappointed. The food was tasteless and was expensive for the amount and quality of food. Got the shrimp and grits which had a sauce on top that tasted like bbq sauce. Terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goblin1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I ate here last month and were very pleased with both our service and our food. They do not have a set menu, rather it changes daily. Our server was very good and performed her job very well. There is also a pretty big bar in the building for those who just want to stop and drink. Now that I have discovered this place I will definitely be going back often!!! Desserts were amazing!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 North Restaurant also viewed

 
Wrightsville Beach, NC
 
Wrightsville Beach, NC
 

Been to 22 North Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing