We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The setting was better than the food”

Oceanic Restaurant and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The setting was better than the food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have to start by saying that I am not a seafood lover, and if you are not or have people in your party that are not, rethink this restaurant. They have only 3 non seafood entrees, a steak, a chicken, and a pasta besides salads. It is a lovely setting, especially if you can get a table on the pier and our waitress was great. Half of our party said the food was great (they ordered the daily specials) and the other half were not impressed at all (bland, cold, unseasoned). The hushpuppies that they gave us on the table were a little bite of heaven. The menu had a great amount of selections, but this is definitely a seafood restaurant. There were kids at other tables that looked like they had a special menu but it was not listed on the main menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    357
    189
    94
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced View”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I have heard about the Oceanic for years from my husband's family so I just had to go and check it out myself. It's an institution in Wrightsville Beach but the view was about the only great thing about this place when I visited. Sat on the second floor and enjoyed the view. Very crowded and busy for dinner so get there early. Run of the mill salad and fried shrimp, overdone pasta all quite pricy. Main dish portions were so large my husband and I could have easily ordered one to share and saved the money on the overpriced second entree. Servers were attentive and friendly. Now that I've experience the Oceanic, I don't think I have to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kcarrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Exceptionally ordinary"”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ate at this restaurant by accident, having intended to eat at Oceans Restaurant (in the Holiday Inn resort). The Oceanic is a stand-alone restaurant with pier right on Wrightsville Beach. They have a small parking lot and there is metered public parking close by, but if you are trying to get in there for brunch or on a sunny Saturday, parking may be a problem.

Like everywhere in Wrightsville, the service at Oceanic was very friendly. Our waiter did a great job but unfortunately his efforts were not backed up by inspired food from the kitchen. We had a Mediterranean pasta dish with shrimp, kalamata olives, capers, and feta that somehow managed to be tasteless yet salty and fried fish that did not rise above ordinary. There are just too many other tasty options in the area for Oceanic to be getting away with serving such average fare.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, very good food, too bad......”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

No complaints about the restaurant, very good food, beautiful spot on the water, excellent service. Just a shame when you pay for a nice meal at a gorgeous spot and parents let their children run around like animals the entire time! Is it fair to ruin our dinner out when we work hard for our vacations and can not relax because some parents can not teach their children how to behave in a restaurant and to consider others. This is not Chucky Cheese parents!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank popisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great View”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Go for drinks, and maybe appetizers...the view is worth it during the day and sit outside. Otherwise, it's overpriced for the quality of food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanic Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Oceanic Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing