We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!”

Oceanic Restaurant and Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great View!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My second visit here - first was a wedding dinner - great food and service 14 years ago...
This time, small group of 6 - corner table with a great view for a beautiful lunch.
The service was a little slow and the food was overcooked - could have been better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RakeSource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    342
    177
    86
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ocean front dining at Wrightsville Beach”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate dinner 2 nights in this restaurant because the ocean views are so beautiful. Dinners were delicious both nights.
The surfers show up after 4PM & provide some entertainment!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Food and service were great...Resturant was very clean sat outside on the new pier very nice! Views were wonderful...drinks and food were amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best of Both Worlds”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I suggest you eat on the pier for the experience. We watched young surfers try their luck while we enjoyed fish and hush puppies. Afterward, the walk on the beach was the perfect way to end the day and our vacation.

Since we were there after Labor Day, most of the crowds were gone and our meal was not rushed. It would probably have been a different experience a few days earlier.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyHawk-inthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant View In S.E. North Caolina”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Oceanic is located at the beach end of a lengthy pier, which has recently been rehabbed for safety. Many tables are located on the pier for al fresco dining, and the inside is a mix of casual/elegant booths and tables, and a large bar area. The view is unsurpassed in this area: Not only is there a daytime mix of bathers, surfers and dolphins, but also the nighttime view can encompass moonlight on the water, stars in the sky. This is the place that my love and I chose to get engaged, on the beach next to the pier, followed by a wonderful dinner inside. The dependably best dishes are the appetizers, and while we have had a few disappointments regarding certain entrees on certain days (we've eaten here many, many times), I count this as one of the best restaurants in Wilmington. I believe that if you're from out of town, looking for a great seafood restaurant with fantastic atmosphere--and prices that are not low but reasonable-- your search is done. If you're local,you don't need me. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanic Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Oceanic Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing