We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to tighten up the running of the ship”
Review of Waterway Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterway Lodge
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Pleasant room but:
Pool is immediately on a major highway
No maid service - presumably because I had a cat with me
No iron/ironing board as advertised
No hair dryer
Showerhead barely functioning
Blinds had no wand to open & close the slats
Snack machine out of order but no sign saying so
The biggest problem with certain of the above was that the management already knew about them and were only casually concerned - and obviously had not bothered to do any repairs.

The location was great - convenient to good restaurants and other beaches to the south. Close to many cultural sites - Airlie Gardens (very nearby), NC Aquarium, and others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalieh576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Waterway Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 60 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is at a great location. Across the street is the Intracoastal Waterway which has some of the finest restaurants at Wrightsville Beach. Clean and unique rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mak2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and I and our small dog stayed here one night on our way to Florida. But it would be just fine for a week. The large room had a fridge and microwave, and lots of cupboards. There was a full bath with a tub, but our shower didn't function. The shower head was there but the diverter knob to send water up to it was broken off , however I'm sure that could be fixed. "Pets welcome" was advertised right on the sign out front, which was very nice to see since some places take pets, but only reluctantly. It is by the Intercoastal Waterway. The only problem was the loud heating/AC unit which was right above the bed. So we turned it off and had a good sleep.
The Causeway Cafe just across the bridge serves awesome breakfasts. The cafe is obviously a favorite with the locals, which is a good recommendation. Old couples sit with cups of coffee reading the morning paper. Young people come in laughing and talking.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Nothing fancy, but the location was great - close to the beaches. The bonus for us was that pets were allowed. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable - nothing fancy, but who needs that at the beach. Must ask for hairdryer and iron (no ironing boards?) Also TV clickers were missing.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWDGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Where to begin. I know people travel with their dogs, but when they bark all night, and when I call the desk all I get is a "Sorry, but there is nothing we can do" makes me very upset. Then when it does get quiet, someone decides to knock on our door saying that there is a complaint about noise. I asked the guy if he had lost hs mind. Then the lady in the morning asked if we enjoyed our stay...I laughed, checked out, and went to another hotel, oceanfront, and slept like a baby. NO CLASS AT THIS HOLE!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This was a very nice, affordable motel to stay in. The front desk staff was pretty entertaining and polite. Also each room is owned individually so they all have their own, different homey feel. Our room was extremely clean and bright with parking right out front. There are nice restaurants across the street on the waterway and its a mile walk over the bridge to the beach. I will definately be staying at the waterway lodge again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank meoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh-Durham, NC
17
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The Waterway Lodge has served us well for years..we have 2 large labradors who are well-behaved and LOVE to come to the beach! The Waterway has a couple of great rooms/suites available with hardwoods, etc for those with pets. The rooms are spacious, have separate living areas, baths and kitchen areas. It is on the intracoastal and centrally-located for downtown Wilmingotn or Wrightsville Beach visitors..walking distance (across the street) form top restaurants on the water along with walkwyas and shopping centers. The staff has always been very friendly and the additional low pet fee makes i possible for us to travel with our older dogs which is so important...They beat out the others who also allow pets like the Marriott across the street at Landfall who used ot charge $250 pet FEE to have a pet there!
Definitely go whether you have a pet or not..it's a great clean place to stay and convenient to all!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
1.4 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterway Lodge

Address: 7246 Wrightsville Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 296
Also Known As:
Waterway Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing