We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterway Lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterway Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterway Lodge
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waterway Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall a very nice place. Great location, good value, clean and beds were comfortable. Nice new flat screen TV on the wall. Make sure you request extra towels as they gave us two and we had 1 adult and two kids. Bathroom is nothing grand and do not expect the tons of soap bars or the luxry shampoo that you get at the higher $ Chains, like Marriott. But for one quick trip for a soccer tournament, it was great. The office closes early and once they are closed they don't reopen until the next morning. So not sure how to get any extra towels or soap, etc.

Room Tip: Request one on first floor so you can park and walk in. A little noisey from the road to Wrightsvil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

the person who wrote dump, not sure you stayed at the waterway lodge most rooms have been remodled if you walk into a room and dont like it you need to request another room then not at the end of check out trying to get something free. Maybe you sould have gone to a beach where other people don't go.

Room Tip: rooms are so pretty and updated, pool area great and staff awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Waterway Lodge April 6th weekend of 2013 and loved it. We had checked online for other hotels and this one had the best rates. We had stayed there two summers ago and love the proximity to some of our favorite restaurants. The room is the perfect size for a couple. It is all you need for a quick weekend away.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in a king room. It had a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caatmarfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I cannot believe they're asking $600 a week or $1,000 a month for this old, run down place in need of renovations! I don't know what room the picture show's but it's not the one we stayed in.

When you make reservations they glorify the place.

Pool adjecent to busy roadway. Very noisy.

Inadequate service, the kids at the front desk couldn't care less if you have a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incognit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Harbor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had previously stayed at this Lodge in a room and we truly loved it. We booked a one bedroom condo for our recent stay Thanksgiving week-end. The price was high but we were in town for a family reunion and we expected the rates to be higher on a holiday. The condo was a major disappointment.
It was dirty, ants in kitchen area, no linens for the sleeper sofa, bathrooms not clean, no soap in bathroom, 2 bath towels, one hand towel, no bath mat, tub and toilet dirty! Towelbar had been pulled off the wall. Dishes in the "fully equiped kitchen" were dirty. TV in living room area not viewable, etc. When we expressed our concerns we were told the manager would be in to talk to us. He never showed. No reduction in price offered as the person at the desk was not authorized to do anything. She did bring us linens,washed the glasses in the kitchen area and brought us soap for bath and kitchen sink. Needless to say we were frustrated and disappointed in the lack of concern and service. We stayed in unit 401. We understand that these are privately owened condos at this lodge, The management is NOT doing it's job. We are also sorry that we will not stay here again as we love the area and the location. We expect more when paying $200 a night. I hope the owners and or management read these reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Waterway Lodge has been my secret haven in Wrightsville for years . It is convenient to everything and a GREAT deal ratewise. Views of the sound and ocean are nice and easy walking distance to the best restaurants! The units are privately owned and all of them I have seen are neat tidy and well furnished including living rooms and kitchens! Great pricing make it the go to place close to the beach!

Room Tip: I like to stay on the 4th floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been staying at the waterway lodge for twenty plus years.The staff has always been great and eager to make your stay relaxing.I have recently only by accident discoverd my favorite new unit 402.The fit up in this unit was beutifull and for the first time i could see the water from my room.My only regret about staying here is I will have to take one less weekend retreat to buy a tv as nice as the one in the room.

Room Tip: Try 402 never dissapoints !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAT415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterway Lodge

Property: Waterway Lodge
Address: 7246 Wrightsville Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 296
Also Known As:
Waterway Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing