We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Stone Crab - CLOSED

Stone Crab
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great food, nice atmosphere nice wait staff. I got the tuna slightly over cooked but still good. There's nice places to shop around the restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We almost didn't go here due to the low ranking for Wrightsville Beach. That would have been a big mistake. Great regular and chalk board menu. The oysters from Figure Eight Island were incredible as were the free hush puppies. The steamers are awesome too. I think the half pound serving of shrimp was more like a pound with enough to bring back to the hotel for a late night snack. The desserts sounded great but we were too full to try any. Nice tables and picnic tables outside but we got too cold and went inside to the bar as the rest of the smallish dining area was full. I hope they keep doing well 'cause I'd like to go back on my next trip down to Wrightsville Beach.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food in a pleasant, casual, and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our family of three had a very nice dinner here. The food was very good. On an uncrowded weeknight, the young staff was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is informal with simple furnishings, but it was nice, clean, and pleasantly decorated. The prices were average for a decent, sit-down dinner not too far from the beaches. Yes, it's in a shopping area, but I disagree that it's a typical "stripmall". Lumina station is a "shopping village" that is architected, landscaped, and maintained, with many other other nice local shops and restaurants.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wrightsville Weekend”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

On our way to visit friends in Wrightsville Beach, we stopped for lunch in the Lumina Station shopping center on NC74 in Wilmington. We asked the hostess at the Stone Crab Oyster Bar if they served salads, and she said, “We have the best salads in town.” Both my husband and I ordered Cobb salads; we were impressed with the freshness of all the ingredients, especially the sliced avocados which were perfect. We agreed that the hostess was correct, and the salads placed high in our experienced salad rankings. When we told our resident friends where we had lunch, they said that the Stone Crab was one of the favorites of locals, and one of theirs for dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GundlachB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great old-time crab house”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Family went last week - 2 adults and 3 elementary school aged girls. We sat outside on the picnic tables and had great steamed seafood and cold beer. You will not know what to choose on their menu.

We have gone 4 years in a row and it has been great every year.

Kids menu has the standards, BUT they have taco and quesadilla choices as an appetizer, with a side choice, and these were plenty for the kids for dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Crab also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing