We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful sunset cruise.

Gigi our guide was wonderful, she covered all sorts of topics, it was a nice cruise, informative... read more

Reviewed July 25, 2018
Janet T
,
Charlotte, United States
Sunset Cruise

Our group of five took the sunset cruise and we highly recommend it! The tour was fun and we... read more

Reviewed July 13, 2018
Amy E
Read all 61 reviews
  
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
47
8
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
8
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain joe masonboro island sunset cruise his knowledge boat ride small boat great trip blockade runner shamrock dolphins kirby wildlife boats egrets inlet pier wrightsville
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 61 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Captain Joe and his crew were extremely helpful and friendly in getting me and some buddies to masonboro island. They were timely, helped unload and load our camping gear, and even gave us a killer suggestion for lunch. One of our friends needed a ride from the marina to waynick blvd and captian joe had his crew go pick him up.

Thank you!!!!

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank usman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really feel like we got our money's worth... We took a tour of island.. one of the crew members educated us on the do's and donts, as well as, the wildlife and plants... I wasnt ready to leave the beautiful island yet so he picked us up on the next tour... i will definately go again... Everyone was so FRIENDLY.. It is safe and perfect for ALL ages.... Melissa A. Epperson 7/9/2012

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were a mixed age group of 21-52. I was very pleased that Captain Joe and his first mate was so knowledgeable about the wildlife and local history. We were able to see a variety of birds - binoculars were provided - and looked for elusive dolphins. Captain Joe gave informative information about Masonboro Preserve and our group began to plan excursions on the Shamrock for our visit next year. I feel we got a lot for the price!

Thank Traveler24063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

What a wonderful trip we had! I took 23 senior adults on a "Birding and Shelling" adventure with these guys. Captain Joe, Stephanie and Kirby were so knowledgeable, professional, friendly and helpful with my group. Captain Joe and Kirby "manned" the boat and told the group all about the area and the local birds and their nesting habitats. We saw alot of water birds and saw them nesting on the beach. The boat took us out to Masonboro Island where we walked and talked with Stephanie about the landscape, aquatic and plant life on the barrier island and life on Masonboro. We searched for sea shells and talked about them all. It was a delightful trip! Thank you to these 3 for an interesting trip.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Pirategirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had a group of five that booked the 1.5 hour sunset cruise. We were initially bummed because it was overcast & rainy and knew we wouldn't be seeing a sunset. We are a "go with the flow" type of group so we went in with a good attitude. Captain Joe & his crew member made me even forget it was overcast. The knowledge that they shared about the area, the changes, the wildlife & things to do in the future were very interesting. It gave us a very unique look at the natural part of the area instead of the commercial part. Toward the end of the tour, they put on some music. Good music always makes things happy. I think the price was well worth it & we will plan a more in depth excursion the next time we are there.

Date of experience: May 2012
2  Thank PetTraveler24060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews