We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Sands Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

For a last minute surf trip, this place served us well. Perfect location to all the bars and restaurants in Wrightsville Beach, and a block from the beach. Room had free WiFi, 2 flat screen tv's, central air, balcony above the pool. At $235/night in mid summer, it was a reasonable deal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bodhi360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

After reading reviews about Summer Sands and talking to Laura (the manager), I was pretty certain this was a good bet. After visiting, I'm thrilled to have a new go-to beach spot. The rooms look like they do on the Web site. You enter from the open-air hallway into the bedrooms. They all have been upgraded to King beds so that was a pleasant surprise. The bedroom thankfully has a smaller window so light pouring in at night isn't a problem. There is a bathroom in the hallway that opens up to a kitchen/eating area/couch/TV area. The kitchen wasn't big enough to feel like we could eat in one night but luckily once you get to Summer Sands you can park the car and walk to eat (plus who wants to cook?). What made me book Summer Sands in the first place were the rocking chairs on the balcony. I figured any place that cared enough about their guests to put two very comfortable rocking chairs on a balcony (versus cheap plastic chairs) was a place I needed to try. The balcony is bigger than it looks on the Web site. You can choose from a room facing the pool and ocean or the harbor. I would advise the pool/ocean side and go for the third or fourth floor for a better view. The pool was clean and nice and beach access is across the street. There are also bikes you can rent which we did both days and had a blast. A testament to my stay? I booked a return visit before I left.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank QueenCtyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you care a lot about how nice your room is and don't care at all about public areas (lobbies, dining halls, exercise rooms etc.) then Summer Sands might be for you. The room we had was great. It was much larger than average hotel rooms with a huge closet, two big beds (one pull down), a balcony and a fully equipped kitchenette. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. The only drawback was that there was one bathroom, and since the hotel does not have any public areas except the pool, there was no other bathroom to use when another member of the family was showering or dressing. Also, our view of the beach was scanty although it was a nice view anyway because our balcony permitted us to watch the goings on downtown at night. It only took minutes to walk to the beach. There is a big hotel right in front of the Summer Sands that is actually on the beach. Once we walked past that hotel, we were on the beach. There is a nice cafe next door and a beach shop and a boutique very close. Regarding cancellations, Summer Sands has a clearly stated cancellation policy. When we thought we might have to cancel, we called and they told us how soon in advance they would have to be notified in order that we not be charged.

Room Tip: If seeing the inlet where the boats are docked is important to you, you may want to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The decor and cleanliness, and the arrangement of furnishings was considerably better than the average beach accommodation. One suggestion: be sure of which side your room is on if you want to see the bayside. I thought that was where I would be, but I was on the other side, that has a fairly obstructed view of the ocean.
The hotel is located next to a great restaurant and is very convenient to access the beach.
The desk/reception area is tiny and not well suited to waiting to check in, but that's a small inconvenience.
Overall, a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask which view you will have: bay or ocean. Bayside view is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelinggrandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel charged my account for what they say was a no show, which in fact I had cancelled the week before. They did not send email confirmations for either the reservation or the cancellation. We are presently in dispute with this unreputable business and want to warn others of their unprofessional and sloppy business practices.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank icurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Great little hotel in the heart of Wrightsville Beach. Park the car and forget about it. Beach is across the street, shops, bars and restuarants are right down the street. A clean, quiet, relaxing place to hit the beach for a weekend get away.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank ChinaCatRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

When I first viewed this motel on the web, the pictures didn't do it justice. In fact, I almost breezed over it, but once we got down to Wrightsville Beach and finally ended up selecting Summer Sands, well, I will tell you, this is guite a jewell. We had a sound view room on the 4th floor and it was spectacular. It has a great wonderfully stocked kitchenette complete with frig w/icemaker and dishwasher (for those staying longer than 1 night). The bed was extremely comfortable and we had absolutely no issues with street noise or neighboring tenants. Each room has a private balcony complete with large rocking chairs (just wonderful for kicking back and enjoying the world go by), and let me tell you the view is spectacular.

You have beach shopping easily within walking distance. Parking for this particular motel is absolutely no probem, even though it's right close to the street. A restaurant right down the road in Wrightsville Beach is "The Oceanic" No quite in walking distance, but it is well worth the drive. That restaurant is right on the beach, in fact it has outdoor seating on the pier and has absolutely wonderful seafood food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mebhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Sands Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Sands Suites

Address: 104 Lumina Ave S, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-6201
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $112 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Sands Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all suite property. The rooms are well equipped for weekly stays with full sized refrigerators and kitchen supplies. Once you are here you are just footsteps from everything. Ocean, Shopping and dining are all with in a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Summer Sands Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing