We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent!”

Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went for breakfast. Great service and great atmosphere. Heads up - it's check or cash only.

The breakfast was very good and everyone in our party seemed to really enjoy it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    97
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our second trip to the Causeway Cafe and we were not disappointed. Two of us had the french toast made with Texas toast. It was yummy! We also ordered a small bowl of grits to share because these are undoubtedly some of the best grits I've tasted. (And being a South Carolina girl, I've tasted quite a few!) These grits don't need butter. Our husbands tried out the omelets this time. One had the sausage omelet and the other had the meat lover's. Both were delicious with lots of filling. The only "complaint" would be that they were a little dry on the outside. A sprinkle of cheese or maybe some hollandaise sauce would have made them just about perfect. Biscuits, hot and steamy, were light and fluffy, melt in your mouth good. The sausage was not your typical little link, but rather "hotdog" size, and scrumptious. If you like a diner-style breakfast, this is the place for you. The owner (manager?) walks around and talks to the customers and even remembered us from our previous visit three days prior. Would love to return to try out the lunch menu. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teri7478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Visit Just For The Green Chilies Omelet.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

we read other reviews and this place looks promising. Beachy, clean and warm. the service was very good and our waitress brought us a bowl of grits to try before we ordered. don't miss the green chilies omelette or the oversize breakfast sausage. we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LegalBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best grits ever, other food quite good”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved this place. A fun local vibe. We arrived by 8 am and didn't have to wait for a table. We all agreed the grits were the best we've ever had. Must be cooked with butter and cream? I enjoyed scrambled eggs. Others tried the corned beef hash (one with fried eggs, and one with poached eggs) - both said the corned beef hash was good (and both wished it had been fried a little crispier). One person had french toast that was delicious. Two of us had bacon that was supposed to be extra crispy but it wasn't...just chewy and not super flavorful. So that was disappointing. Coffee was adequate...not Starbucks but ok.

Overall we found the place fun, the food good, the grits fabulous, and the people very friendly and helpful. The owner came over and chatted with us for a while which was nice. This isn't gourmet. And the coffee isn't Starbucks. But for a fun, hearty breakfast with a nice local feeling we really liked it. We plan to go back tomorrow!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyW_Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
563 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great local place for breakfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This local cafe is casual and has a great breakfast menu. My family and I ate here both mornings we were in Wrightsville Beach and enjoyed all of the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing