We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and prices”

Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food and prices”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We tried this place this AM, mainly because it was the only place open at 7am for breakfast. We were expecting some greasy spoon that appealed to the early morning fishing crews but were pleasantly surprised once we entered. Warm and inviting. Huge menu with options for everyone. We tried the Eggs Neptune - an Eggs Benedict with crab meat in lieu of Canadian ham and the Crab Omelet, both very good. And the prices are fantastic. Two huge Eggs Neptune with loads of crab meat served with grits or hash browns is $8.99. We also could not help to get half of a waffle with peanut butter morsels. Yummy. The decaf coffee was good too. I would definitely recommend this. They also have burgers (hand ground so you can cook to whatever doneness you like) and grilled seafood platters. We are going back tonight.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AVLME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    95
    24
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Diner Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Causeway Cafe serves up diner food like you want it to be--quick and delicious. The warmth of the place and the servers/owners makes us always go back. I've loved it for 23 years.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hobart1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Creative menu, diner delivery”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I was impressed by the menu. Everything sounded great when we arrived for a late Sunday breakfast. We both settled on the crab meat omelet. It was good, not great, but we enjoyed it (though with the hollandaise sauce it was really rich). The grits were really good. Service was fine, friendly and quick.

The one big disappointment? The water dripping from the air conditioner vent overhead. Ewww. The first time I felt the splatter I accused my husband of being messy. The second time we realized it came from overhead. Once I looked up I lost some of my enjoyment of the food.

Otherwise, good atmosphere. Bring cash as they don't take plastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great local spot for breakfast and brunch”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Located on Harbor Island in Wrightsville Beach this local spot is always busy and friendly. Incredible menu, lots of people watching, great breakfast and very friendly staff and owners. Feel like you live on Wrightsville Beach when you stop by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noona82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

They used to give you a LOT of food for the decent prices. Something must have changed recently, though, because they've become quite stingy, and the prices appear to have increased. Service is poor. The guy that runs the place always seems to be in the worst mood ever. But, the food is good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank aundreeuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing