We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just plain YUM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe

Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just plain YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have been going to Causeway Cafe for years now. I have never had a a bad moment. From hearing your name screamed to be seated to the Eggs Neptune I had melting in my mouth, it is the best place to have a brunch or lunch. It is usually busy but the most I ever waiting was 30 mins. I love it and will go everytime I am in Wrightsville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    95
    24
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beachy, a Little Run-Down Looking, But Incredible Breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've been to The Causeway Cafe quite a few times for breakfast, and every meal was incredible. There's always a wait during the summer months, but there are tables on the porch and free coffee for your wait. The grits are the best I've ever eaten. My husband, who swore he hates grits, now orders them whenever we go, because they are so creamy, smooth, and amazing. The staff is friendly and accommodating, even with the crowds that swarm into the restaurant. The atmosphere is definitely low-key - kind of summer beach vacation-ish. The owners are welcoming and make you feel appreciated. If you're looking for a great breakfast in a fun atmosphere, do not miss this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karinocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great place to grab breakfast and stay on the island.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't Let This "Funky Little Place" Slip By You!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of waiting an hour to have breakfast last Sunday morning in this tiny, funky little joint...and loved every minute of it!! Have a seat at a power spool table with a cup of the complimentary coffee and get ready for atmosphere galore and food worth fighting over...cause it will come!! This tiny resturant has a great feeling...you're welcome here and you will leave well fed..and smiling. Though this IS a diner, grease is kept to a minimum...the eggs are light, the hash browns aren't swimming off the plate, the coffee is delicious and the biscuits halved and grilled...to die for!! Slap on some jelly and go to it. This little joint is a favorite of locals and vacationers alike...that is easy to tell. It's very much a "everybody knows your name" kind of place with fabulous food, to boot!! I loved, loved, loved it...and my husband and I shall return every time we are in the area. The only tragedy here is that only breakfast and lunch are served...I'd love to sit waterside and see how this great group of folks can do up some shrimp and flounder...talk about a slice of Heaven!! Don't let this one get by you...you'll hear about it from a friend who has visited the area...guarenteed!! THANKS GUYS!! A SUPERB BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ACH1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We waited approximately 20 minutes to be seated, but it was worth it. The service was excellent and Mike made you feel at home. The menu had many items to choose from and we received a HOT breakfast surprisingly fast, considering how busy they were at the time. The prices were very reasonable too. I will definitely be returning on future trips.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gpnlsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe also viewed

 
Wrightsville Beach, NC
Wrightsville Beach, NC
 

Been to Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing