We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, hard to get in, but worth it!”

Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Small, hard to get in, but worth it!”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Wrightsville Beach, next to Redix. Parking is easier if you park out on the street. Love the breakfast and lunch there, very casual. Not open evenings

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank OldGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    101
    26
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Crab Cakes; bring cash”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We tried shrimp, scallops and crabcakes. All were delicious. The food is reasonably priced and better than some of the very expensive downtown restaurants. The crab cakes are huge and delicious. They do not accept credit/debit cards.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's just a location”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I went this morning with my teenage son for breakfast and we got to sit anywhere we liked. The menu looked really good, but the food wasn't. I had the seafood omelet which was bland. The hollandaise sauce I ordered, but on the side. It had too much mozzarella cheese on the inside even though it is described as being topped with mozzarella cheese. The eggs were rubbery and I am not convinced they were real eggs. The tabasco sauce was the only thing that made it tolerable. The toast came unbuttered , but with some fake margarine in a hotel-like package. The coffee was unremarkable and was presented in a small chipped mug. I satisfied my curiosity and that was about it. I wont be going back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

great fun local crowded breakfast - next to redix and lots of crab in the menu

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HWJII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little diner, wish we found it sooner.”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Had the best breakfast. I had the waffles with banana and nuts and husband had grits, sausage gravy and biscuits. Homemade, not from a can. zThe grits came already buttered perfectly and tasted great. Great service and very friendly and attentive. We went off season and didnt have a parking issue but I image parking would be tough at high season. Space is kinda small so I do see what other posters are saying but it wasnt that busy in late October during the week for breakfast. Bathroom trip was a safety issue with flooring on steps to bathroom a little crazy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KThompson38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mike & Katy's Causeway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing