We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food taste, reasonable prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Neptune

King Neptune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food taste, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went to King Neptune for Sunday lunch last Sunday. The atmosphere was pretty typical for a beach seafood place and this particular restaurant has been on Wrightsville Beach for a long time, or so I'm told.

I had the fried chicken and waffles. It was off the hook awesome. I loved it. This was the first time I have ever had this combination and it put a big smile on my face and on the lunch menu it was $6.99, a super deal.

A gentleman in our party got the clam chowder and commented that it was the best that he ever had. My wife had a crab patty sandwich. She said that the crab patty was exceptional but that the sandwich as a whole was a bit "bready".

There were eight people in our party and everyone thought their dishes were very good.

I observed that this place looks like it's a restaurant on one side and a bar on the other. While we were there the bar side was closed. I walked through it because it looked interesting, like an old school beach theme.

When I get back to Wrightsville Beach I will go back to King Neptune for the chicken and waffle. There's no question about that. It was one of the best dishes I have ever had anywhere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank falconbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    59
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great food great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Lived here for over 20 & this was first visit....The food was great had pulled pork nachos appt. then fish tacos for dinner 2 large pieces of fish with a mango sauce also coconut crusted tilapia .will def be back,...why did I wait so long??? LOL

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melp2m2j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Will go for breakfast again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were looking for breakfast by the beach, the kids were getting antsy so we just stopped in not sure of what to expect. The food was decent, and the price was great. We have small ones and having to order them a kids meal never works out to have what they like in each meal. Great priced a la carte menu worked out perfect. The staff was friendly and nice, we would go back for another meal. After we ate we took a nice walk to the beach. Free parking which is great to find down there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K10trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Biggest surprise of our trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

New owners... not just a bar any more!! The food was wow good! our table ordered a blt w/fries (great fries), shrimp and grits(best ever), mussels omg good, seafood tacos and a talapia plate w/mango rice. Best value for our $ on this beach trip. We will always make our way there when at Wrightsville beach!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had breakfast there based on local recommendation for a place that was close by and reasonably priced. It fit the bill. Service was pretty slow even though there were few customers. Eggs and bacon and pancakes were good, hash browns were way too salty. Overall it's a decent place for breakfast but Causeway Cafe was much better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bosun2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Neptune also viewed

 

Been to King Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing