We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem.”
Review of Silver Gull Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Gull Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

When I read the other reviews, I was anxious to check the place out. I expected a good location but I thought it would be an old place. Well it was not a Westin, but it was clean, spacious, reasonable, with a nice kitchen area. The staff was very friendly. The location could not be better. The rooms were much better than I thought they would be for an older place. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 196 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Silver Gull is located right on Wrightsville Beach, with wonderful views of the ocean from the balconies and from inside the rooms looking out the windows behind the balconies. Excellent customer service from Allen, Ruth and John. They make you feel like you're family. However, only half the hotel has been renovated -- the current owners (children of the original owner) do not seem to care much about upkeep of the hotel or visitor's opinions. The motel staff had a lot more leeway to improve customer satisfaction under previous management and ownership.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

On September 28, my girl turn 15 years old! And the only thing she asked me it was to return to the same Motel wher we stood once at the begining of summer for a girls adveture... we had a blast! Two nights and 3 days... OMG! We walk late at the beach... the full moon was awsome! The entire experience, was beautiful! And if you need to wash clothes, bring quoters, the have a washer and a dryer... no sand back to the house! Lol! We planing to go back when its cold again... and we didn't even spend more than $400... love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we had a great time room was clean and the staff was nice we went twice and im ready to go back . if you love to fish the pire was fun . went to wrightville when i was achild that was over 40 years ago it has changed some but not a lot . i always wanted to take my kids there . they are grown now but i got to share the beach with tham and my child hood . when i went the pire was wood and i didnt like walking on it but now it great to just take a walk on it . i dont know if the sliver gull was there than . but it nice to see the older motels can still be nice. so if you can go there . see for your self. it not a big place it dont have a pool . but it dose have a good veiw.. so go i liked the kicthen i enjoyed cook i home made meal.

Room Tip: ask for ocen fornt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great views, spacious rooms. Even though it is stated that some rooms are not updated yet and the price reflects that, the showers are not good. However, everything else is so great, that it is a mute point. Would stay again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robinmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Silver Gull was a great value. Simple accommodations, but clean, a few steps from the beach and pier and best of all the staff is friendly and helpful. Allen McDonald was especially genuinely friendly and helpful. He offered old-fashioned customer service of the type you just don't see much these days.All the staff were great tho. My wife and I will be back to the Silver Gull again and again in the future! We love Wrightsville Beach. The water seems clearer and prettier here than even a few miles further south. All our best to the Silver Gull staff and thanks again for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarrellStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked our trip at the last minute and could not have found a better place to enjoy a much needed family getaway. It's not fancy, a little dated in decor so if you need a lot of sparkle and shine find a resort. My family and I loved it, and look forward to returning. It's located feet from the beach, shops, restaurants, yet far away from too much tourism. I woke up every morning early to watch the sunrise, which was amazing.


The guest service is above and beyond. We were orginally in an ocean view room switching to an ocean front for the last 24 hours. They let us stay in our first room until the second one was ready so we didn't have to keep moving things around. The cleaning crew were thorough and very kind. They folded any clothes lying around, organized toys, and made sure we had everything we needed.


I look forward to returning to this little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: Room 210 was perfect but relly all of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.7 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
14.7 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gull Motel

Address: 20 Salisbury St E, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1812
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: $117 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Gull Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're visiting the coast for business or pleasure, we'll make certain your stay at The Silver Gull in beautiful Wrightsville Beach is one you'll long remember. Only a wide beach stands between you and the majestic Atlantic Ocean. Restaurants, shops, and Johnnie Mercer's Pier are within walking distance. The Silver Gull it all - convenience, comfort, and best yet, that personal touch. So come see us. We're open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Gull Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Silver Gull Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing