We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!! Lack of electrical plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel!! Lack of electrical plugs”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I'm actually writing this review from my room in the hotel. The hotel is in downtown Winston Salem. Parking was $9.00 for valet, not too bad. As usual, I got a 2 room suite with a mini fridge, microwave, and a King bed. The room is very spacious and well kept.

They have an indoor pool and hottub which were very nice! It's so nice to unwind in the hot tub after a day of traveling. I did not use it, but the fitness room looked very nice as well.

There is no plug by the dining room table. There are 2 lamp plugs in the desk lamp, but only one of them worked. Each bedside lamp had 1 plug, but only 1 of them worked. While this isn't that big of an issue, I did have to search to find enough plugs to charge everything I had. But again, not that big of a deal and certainly wouldn't stop me from staying here again!

The windows are not very well insulated. My rooms were quite cold no matter how high I set the thermostat. I know it's in North Carolina, but it can get cold in the Winter! Time for some caulking. This is easily solved by asking for an inward-facing room.

I heard a little street noise. A siren and a large truck. Nothing that my iPad playing some whitenoise couldn't drown out.

The bed was fantastic! Once I took care of the noise, I slept like a log.

All said, I'll definitely stay here again if I come back to this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frekwentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    215
    104
    66
    46
See reviews for
253
78
20
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

The hotel is comfortable and roomy. It has all the necessary amenities you would expect in a Embassy Suites. The staff was polite and helpful with aa single exception. At the breakfast buffet, for both mornings I ate there, the cook to order chef was nowhere to be found. His appliances and station was ready to go but at no time did I see him ready to serve. The first day I chalked it up to the fact that I ate a very late breakfast. The second day however I ate at a time I would have expected him to be ready to work.
Also, be forwarned, there is no free parking, which I find unusual in a city such as Winston-Salem; it was $9 a day.
Other than those two minor issues a perfectly serviceable hotel with friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e065702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The rooms are large in this hotel. Traveling with several teens and pre-teens, it was nice to have a separate sleeping and lounging area. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and the beds super comfortable.

Loved every minute.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in November 2010 in room 807. For those of you who like to know the layout, 807 and 812 are the first rooms around the corner from the elevator. 807 is on the atrium side so your "windows" face indoors and 812 faces the actual outdoors. Don't stay on the 4th floor or lower as their bedrooms have sliding glass doors that open to common areas, which seems weird.

The breakfast had omelets made to order, fresh melon, pineapple, and strawberries, bacon, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, pancakes, juice, coffee, and tea. A very good deal. The manager's reception was in a secluded nook on the 4th floor with tables and a big screen tv, lots of snacks like cheese, and free drinks including alcohol.

The room was rather large, with the bathroom forming a buffer between the bedroom and the hallway, which cut down on noise. There was a thermostat in each room. The wireless internet was about 0.5 MBPS and was free. There was an ethernet jack, though we didn't use it. There was a small fridge without freezer, a microwave, 2 TVs with free TV as well as pay TV that didn't work for us. The beds were comfy and clean. Towels were abundant and smelled a little burnt. Toilet paper was doled out very sparingly.

Parking is nice, and there is a walkway both to the garage and to the Marriott across the street. The gym was about 3 treadmills and 2 ellipticals and one recumbent bike. Free weights only and up to 45# dumbells max. The pool was smallish and there was a hot tub too. There is a starbucks on the first floor.

Room cleaning did not get finished by 5 PM so we asked just for some clean towels. For us it is highly unusual not to have rooms cleaned by the evening. The front desk staff was generally helpful. The hotel is located near many nice restaurants including our favorite, Mellow Mushroom Pizza.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay especially since we could throw the kids in bed by 8 PM and shut the bedroom door and still enjoy a few hours of kid-free tv and entertainment. However, the very late room cleaning service and the unusual building layout were slight negatives. We paid $99 a night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuiteLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Very pretty, well appointed hotel. Convenient valet parking, spacious rooms, great customer service. Good breakfast. Starbucks in Lobby. Rooms were very pretty, nice desk and workspace. Downside to room: furniture in "sitting area" uncomfortable and stuffy with a vinyl feel. Large bathrooms with large vanity area. Separate small vanity area in bedroom. Stayed two nights. On second day, when we returned to our room a little after midnight, we discovered it had not been cleaned. Called the front desk and they apologized and promptly brought up linens. When we checked out, we were given a discount on the room for the inconvenience. Would return without hesitation if in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyDawgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The lobby was beautiful! I enjoyed the glass elevators and the second level sitting area. The rooms were comfortable, too. it had the feel of a house, with the bedroom separated by the main room. Plus, the bathroom was located inside the bedroom for added privacy. The only thing i didn't enjoy was the price of items (Aleve, Tylenol, soft drinks, etc.).

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kikismoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Great location right in the middle of down town with large suites. The desk and maid staff may have been the nicest I've ever come across. Unfortunately, the rooms are a little smoky, as they mix smoking and non-smoking rooms, even on the same floor. Also, the air conditioning and ventilation system is really weak. If you do stay there, use the inexpensive valet parking. The self park is independent and charges by the hour. If you leave even one time it will cost you more than valet. Finally, this may be the worst Embassy breakfast buffet ever. The front desk and host staff were so nice trying to cover for a poor kitchen staff with a bad attitude. It was funny and tragic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbob270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.0 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#15 of 37 in Winston Salem
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.4 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Address: 460 N Cherry St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-2898
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#15 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown Winston-Salem, NC in the Twin City Quarter, just off Interstate 40 Business, 20 minutes from Piedmont Triad International Airport. Within walking distance to restaurant row, entertainment, galleries and shops. Over 57,000 square feet of meeting space. Starbucks Coffee Shop located in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Winston Salem
Winston Salem Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing