We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Midsouth US
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok, but could have been better”
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I just returned from my stay at this hotel. It's location is perfect for visits to Wake Forest which is why I chose it. However, the second day of my stay, the coffee cups and sugar and creamer were not replenished in my room, nor was the hair dryer picked up and returned to its proper location. The room was attractive but small, and no mirror was available over the dresser, only one in the bathroom area. The breakfast was not free, and that was disappointing. I stayed at the Embassy Suites downtown just prior to moving to this hotel to be closer to the campus. Certainly, this hotel is less expensive than Embassy Suites, but without the free breakfast, the free evening manager's reception, and the extra "care for touches" at the Embassy Suites, the location and the price were the this hotel's best features.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megareader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    18
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
18
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

This was probably the nicest two night stay at a Courtyard we have ever experienced. The reception staff was extremely friendly and efficient. They gave us perfect directions to Bonefish Grill even though they admitted Winston-Salem was a chicken and barbecue city. The room was very, very clean - the motel is undergoing a renovation process - but we were not at all disturbed by the process. The buffet breakfast was great (not included in the room rate - but reasonable) and the staff was so very friendly. In fact, each and every employee greeted us with a smile and a "hello". The location is perfect for a visit to Wake Forest University - which is why we were there.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 5, 2005

The hotel was in decent condition. My room was nice and we enjoyed the indoor jacuzzi.

But, the absolute best service I have ever received was after I left my iPod ($300 value) on the bed in the room upon check-out. When I returned home, I called the hotel and was told that it was FOUND and was mailed to my home. I thought my iPod was gone forever, and was so surprised my the honesty of these employees! I sent a letter to the manager thanking him and thanking all of the employees.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2005

I was over on business, and was really surprised how good this hotel was. The rooms were nothing to get over excited about, but were spacious and clean and comfy.

The pool was great with a good size patio area with sunbeds. The buffet breakfast was really good with a great selection and they also had out in the foyer free bottles of water, sodas and fruit which was a nice touch.

Overall very happy and would stay in this hotel again if in this area

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2005

I have always thought Courtyards to be slightly nicer than your run-of-the-mill Hampton Inn, but unfortunately I found that this was not the case in WS. The room was adequate for our needs, but several annoyances still shone through: uncomfortable beds, old-looking areas of the bathroom and entryway, uncomfortable A/C... One thing that did disappoint was the lack of a free breakfast, promised over the phone. However this does appear to be the best thing near campus, so I suppose it will have to do unless one doesn't mind staying in the Hanes Mall area.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdbrum2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2004

I stayed at the Courtyard down the road from Wake Forest University twice this spring, and I was delighted with this little hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. For both of my trips, I arrived very late at night and received a very pleasant welcome from the front desk staff on duty. I had one minor problem (light smell of smoke in room) that was resolved quickly (assigned to another room w/no smoke). In the mornings, I found the staff to be efficient and helpful as I headed off to visit Wake Forest University. I was also happy with the light breakfasts that I got in the hotel's restaurant. If you need a convenient and reasonably priced place to stay while visiting Wake Forest University, I recommend the Courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2003

We used to stay at the Hampton Inn across the road and I must say, the Hamtpon Inn has better rooms, free breakfast, better service and is cheaper. I found this hotel to be pretty unimpressive...

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.5 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
#28 of 38 in Winston Salem
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Winston-Salem University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Winston-Salem University

Property: Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Address: 3111 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winston-Salem University 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Winston-Salem University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem University Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott
Courtyard Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing