We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn (Cotton Factory)”
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brookstown Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed at Brookstown for business trip, landing a room over-looking the courtyard on the forth floor. Amazing room lay out with exposed beams and all the expected accouterments of mill turned hotel. Elevator only goes to the third floor, so there is one stair case to climb (no big deal), plus worth the trip to see an original wall from the mill with various period notes, poems, and sketches.

Rooms had mix of nostalgia with odd kitschy additions. For example, our room had electric logs and fire in fireplace and creepy kid pictures over the beds. Otherwise, pretty amazing.

Breakfast was quick and forgettable (pastry, coffee, yogurt), but wine/cheese service was fun. Hotel is literally on top of Old Salem and worth the walk to check it out.

Room Tip: If you can do stairs, ask for 4th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qayaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your business and your feedback. We always appreciate our customers comments so that we may improve our quality and service. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Brookstown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 627 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have stayed at this Inn multiple times over the past 4 years, with our most recent stay in early May 2014. Each time the staff has been friendly and attentive, our room has be unique, and the experience has been enjoyable. We have stayed elsewhere on a few occasions. Each time we wished we had stayed at the Inn. The location is great to get downtown, to UNCSA or the highway. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are not cookie cutter boxes, but unique abodes. If you are headed to Winston Salem, don't miss this unique and enjoyable Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edpaytontulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments and your business. We always try to be different and unique
and always appreciate hearing from our valued guest. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

really nice staff, cordial. the upgraded our room for free just because. beautiful rooms. Exposed brick, multi-level. Nice classic 4 poster queen bed. Higher end bath products. the courtyard is nice, as well as other amenities. We missed breakfast (one kitchen staff told me it ended at 10AM, not 9AM) and the manager got my kids and I drinks and food despite that! Within 1/4 mile (walking dist) of Old Salem.

Only suggestion: although expensive for custom black out curtains, these would be helpful in the Queen exec suite as a fair amount of street light came in through the blinds.

Room Tip: The queen suites are more expensive but nice for a family for more room
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for the nice comments. We appreciate your business and hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent renovated boutique hotel/Inn. A few short blocks from Salem College and downtown Winston-Salem, this is a lovely place to stay. Good for romantic getaway or family trip. No restaurant on premises, but they serve breakfast, wine and cheese in the afternoons and cookies and milk at night. Restaurants are within walking distance as are live music venues.
For those who have not visited Old Salem, it is a restored 1700 s village with tour guides dressed in Moravian (religion) period costumes. Salem College is an all women's college dating back to 1772 and is one of the best small colleges in the United States.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the courtyard and not the parking lot.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOUTONROTHSCHILD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your business, we appreciate your nice comments.
Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Brookstown Inn is a superb hotel within easy walking distance of both the downtown area and Old Salem. It used to be a cotton mill and has been sympathetically converted. The bedrooms are lovely. They are very spacious and have a lot of character, with bare brick walls, exposed wooden beams and Shaker (or perhaps Moravian) style furniture. Wine and nibbles are served early each evening by the fireside in the lounge downstairs and hot milk and biscuits (cookies) are available at bedtime. There's a good breakfast (with proper plates, glasses and cutlery) and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. We'd stayed here before and when we were passing through the area again recently we planned our route to include an overnight stop here. Highly recommended.

(Last visited 11 February 2014).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for the nice comments. We appreciate your business and hope that you wll visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great experience at the Brookstown Inn. Room was great, easy reservations, good breakfast, staff was great. Wine and Cheese was kind of let down, California wine? Was hoping for some wine from the region... Guy serving was a little strange... Unique experience though. Would recommend and go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for one night and it was mostly good. The person behind the counter at check-in was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a beautifully repurposed former cotton mill, so there is a lot of exposed brick, beams, and pipes. Lots of character and charm. The room was large with a high ceiling and the bathroom was larger than in most hotels. There's free wine and cheese in the evening and milk and cookies later before bed (cookies are not made there). My complaints are mostly petty: some sort if rattling with the a/c vent, the tub hot/cold handle was really weird to figure-out, and there was only one nightstand. My only major grievance was when we were leaving, carrying arm loads of bags, AARON (employee) was about to come in, saw us about to leave, and instead of grabbing the door for us, simply stepped out of the way. That person was our last impression of an otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feed back. We are always trying to improve our quality and service and will use your experience as a training tool for our staff.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
223 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5209
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $122 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing