We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brookstown Inn
Nearby Hotels
Winston-Salem Marriott(Winston Salem)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$97
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graylyn Estate(Winston Salem)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
$79
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveler rating
486
172
45
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
486
172
45
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkwine and cheesecotton millold salemresident catexposed brickold millhigh ceilingshotel catcharming hotelbefore bedtimelovely courtyardvisitor centerhuge roomwalking distancechain hotelshistoric building
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 726 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've stayed at the Brookstown multiple times since 1988. It's a bit run-down from those early days but still a wonderful experience. A great place to stay if you're visiting Old Salem Village. Very quiet and comfortable. A friend joined me on my last visit who didn't have the previous ones to compare and he was quite impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are always trying to improve our facility and service and comments from our customers is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The visit was very nice. The close proximity to Old Salem was convenient since we had come to attend the Easter Moravian Sunrise Service at Gods Acre. Very courteous staff and everything was great. The foldout sofa bed in our room has seen better days though!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Its always nice to hear from our valued customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a nice stay at the inn. Breakfast, wine and cheese and cookie and milk were very good. We loved the building, room and location. The only negative was the front desk staff. They did provide service but across all four shifts that I interacted with none of them seemed like they wanted to be there. I would have to describe their demeanors as flat. It was a bit of an effort to get information from them. The one exception was the bartender-he modeled excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. We are always trying to improve our quality and service. Normally our staff gets great reviews. We are so sorry that they disappointed you.
If we can help you in the future please let me know.
Steve Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My family needed a place to stay suddenly when our father was admitted into Wake Forest Baptist Hospital. After a day in hospital room in was a relief to enter a hotel that visually delighted us. Brookstown Inn is charming, spacious, and delightful to explore.
The room was spacious with hard wood floors and a modern bathroom with a fabulous shower. The beds of course were the best characteristic. Deep and luxurious with plenty of fluffy pillows and lots of warm bedding. I have never been this comfortable in a hotel. And because this is a converted cotton mill, the walls are thick. The silence was fabulous!
There are complementary toiletries, hair drier, iron and board available. And enough towels for 4 people. The really nice surprise was a Kourig coffe machine. So nice!
Besides the wine and cheese hour and the following cookie and milk hour, there is a large lovely brick courtyard for seating or smokers. There is also a nice large comfy seating area inside that I was able to make phone calls at and just relax with a coffee. We arrived too late to have dinner but there are several restaurants just across the store that we easily walked to.
The staff was super pleasant and very accommodating as well. They will even take guests on a tour of the mill if asked. We didn't partake of the continental breakfast because even though it was a lovely array of pastries and cereal, I prefer a more substantial breakfast. At checkout, we were told that they provide a special rate for families with loved ones at Baptist Hospital.
If this sounds good to you, I wouldn't hesitate to book. The only downside to this Inn is that it's so good it fills up quick!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your business and the nice comments. We are always looking to improve our
quality and service.
Steve Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Can walk very easily to Old Salem. Clean, comfortable beds. Wine and cheese served in the evenings as well as milk and cookies before bed in the lobby. Chocolates on our pillows. Excellent. Within walking distance also are several wonderful restaurants. Di Lisio's Italian restaurant has excellent high quality meals for a reasonable price just across the street from the hotel. Wonderful get away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your business and nice comments. We are always trying to improve our quality
and service and your feedback is very important to us.
Steve Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews