We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, food court ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Sawatdee

Thai Sawatdee
Ranked #66 of 656 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, food court ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Okay, this really is a mall food-court style restaurant that's not even in a food court but in the fresh produce section of a Harris-Teeter grocery store. Don't let any of the pictures fool you, they're apparently from an older location. You walk up to the counter tucked away in the corner of the store, select from an quite extensive menu of Thai standards (each item has an adequate description for the novice diner) and then either wait at the counter for your take-out or go take a seat at the small group of tables just across from the fresh vegetable displays. Alright, so ambiance isn't one of their strengths.
What is their strength? The food and the service here are both EXCELLENT. the food is well prepared and flavorful and is presented in good sized and attractive portions. The owner makes it a point to come out from behind the counter on a regular basis to attend to her customers needs as well as to greet what appears to be a sizable contingent of regulars.
It's a shame that the location may cause some people to pass but put this food and this service in a nice location and they'd be packed on a nightly basis.Take my advice, if you're a fan of Thai (or just want to try something different) DO NOT MISS Thai Sawatdee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SJTravelers504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Recently went to an upscale Thai restaurant in Charlotte. I can honestly say that the food at Thai Sawatdee is as good and for some dishes better than the fancy restaurant!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KL_CL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place has the best (and only) Thai ever located inside a Harris Teeter grocery store. The food is very good -- and you can place your order, shop for groceries and pick it up on the way out. The portions are huge and I always have enough for one more meal -- and sometimes a snack after that! I seldom eat there but, when I have, the service has been excellent. I value having this place in my neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waxwing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The Best Thai Around and CHEAP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Love this place. We used to get it all the time even though we used to live 15 miles away from it. Now it is a special treat when I visit a friend. Everything is excellent and there is enough to take home for another meal. YUM!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Livewiretrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take out, they get it right everytime...thanks, Pin !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Pin, Toon and the cooks here really do an amazing job, the food is Always Awesome, quality and flavor are constantly goooooooood !!

I have never had a bad meal from here, Thai Sawatdee is the Best Thia on Take Out or Dine In !! ENjoy !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad McGee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sawatdee also viewed

 

Been to Thai Sawatdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing