We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family tradition”
Review of Dewey's Bakery

Dewey's Bakery
Ranked #4 of 24 Bakeries in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Since opening in 1930, Dewey's has been baking traditional favorites such as Moravian Cookies, Sugar Cake, and Lovefeast Buns. The bakery is also known for scrumptious cake squares, pastries, dessert bars, and homemade ice cream. Dewey's is also Winston-Salem's destination for cakes for birthdays, weddings and other special occasions. Every Monday is Free Cake Square Day!
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A family tradition”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When my children were very little, I used to bake all their birthday cakes and they were perfectly happy. One very year I broke down and bought my husband a birthday cake and it's been a family tradition since then on. I'm simply talking about their sheet cake, not the new creations they also do now with the fondant. Whenever we pick up a birthday cake order, we also have to stop and get the Moravian Sugar Cake. It's a nice little bakery (not the European kind I'm used to from living in Germany) but it's still wholesome and fresh. Of course try the Moravian Sugar Cookies. You really can't go wrong with the cake squares and cookies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sweets Galore”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Dewey's Bakery has been around since I was a youngster and I'm now 68 yrs. of age. I can remember my Mom taking off to Thurway shopping center almost every Saturday to visit Dewey's. Every visit she would get these four items and sometimes even more if a special occasion were coming up. She would get cream horns, brownies, devonshire coffee cake, and 2 packages of their delicious oatmeal cookies. The cookies were for me. Everything she ever brought home was fantastic. To this day if a law was passed that said I could only eat one thing for the rest of my life - it would be Dewey's oatmeal cookies and a cold glass of milk. Healthy and absolutely delicious. I've actually eaten a whole package in one sitting. Right now I wish I had a couple to munch on before going to bed. Don't get me wrong - Krispy Kreme doughnuts are a close second, but Dewey's oatmeal cookies win out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Used to be better”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The cakes are overpriced for what you get. Too many Tchotchke's and not enough customer service. Cake and All Things Yummy in Kernersville is better tasting and a better value. I guess that's why they started free cake square Mondays...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good for some baked goods”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I like Dewey's for their Moravian cookies, cheese straws, ice cream and special occasion cakes. I'm don't like their other baked goods as much as Ollie's or Camino Bakery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't expect to get your order!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I ordered the only thing my wife wanted for her birthday, a cake from deweys. Two hours before I was to pick up said cake I got a call, NO CAKE FOR YOU! I was told to try in two more days!! Then they still charged me FULL PRICE!! DON'T COUNT ON THESE PEOPLE! !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kendo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey's Bakery also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Dewey's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing