We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't ruin a good (great) dog here!”
Review of Skippy's

Skippy's
Ranked #86 of 661 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $4 - $8
Description: Skippy's is a one of the most popular lunch places in the beautiful downtown of Winston Salem. We are a very small place, so we get crowded quickly and at times, seats may be challenging to get. All food is cooked fresh to order so we ask that you be patient. You can be sure that the staff at Skippy's does their very best to ensure that you and yours have an enjoyable experience !
Restaurant details
Description: Skippy's is a one of the most popular lunch places in the beautiful downtown of Winston Salem. We are a very small place, so we get crowded quickly and at times, seats may be challenging to get. All food is cooked fresh to order so we ask that you be patient. You can be sure that the staff at Skippy's does their very best to ensure that you and yours have an enjoyable experience !
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“They don't ruin a good (great) dog here!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a tiny shop that specializes in upper crust hot dogs -- and they do them great! They do have a few other non-dog items (and even a veggie dog) but the dog's where it's at here! They use all beef dogs split and grilled, with their own homemade pretzel dog buns! (These buns are worth the trip itself). Then you can load them up with just about anything you want -- they even do a fair "Chicago" style dog (all the right fixen's but of course on their pretzel roll and not the standard sesame seed bun).

My faves are the "All the Way" (slaw, mustard, chili) and Rueben (grilled sauerkraut, mustard, swiss cheese) !

The fries are plentiful and fresh and hot -- and they even have malted vinegar to appease my English heritage! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJM-Weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hot Dogs Here”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Jammed packed inside and out with hungry people devouring delicious dogs on pretzel buns with great hand cut fries. If you can think of something, you can probably get it on your dog. What more needs to be said?
Every time we are in W-S, we hit Skippy's.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cookieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost a Chicago Dog”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

It is the only place in town to get a decent hot dog not smothered in slaw and chili. Being from Chicago we still feel we own the rights to the best way to eat a hot dog. At Skippy's you forgo the poppy seed bun, but the pretzel roll is not a bad substitute. Worth the wait! French Fries are very good too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2much2c_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ohhhh, man...”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Despite the fact that we had to wait maybe 20 minutes to even get a table (it's a small joint), and about that long to get our food, it was so well worth it. Yes, the hot dogs come on pretzel buns that are wonderful, as was the chili, onions, and cole slaw on my "all the way" dog. We also ordered a basket of cheese fries, a perfect complement. Prices were lower than I expected as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blacksburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An extraordinary hotdog with great fries”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you are an occasional hotdog fan this place is incredible. They make a Chicago Dog that rivals anything I ever tasted in Chicago, and in truth is probably better, because the pretzel bun is fantastic. The fries are thin-cut and delicious. They also have many different varieties of hotdog...Carolina style, etc.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skippy's also viewed

 

Been to Skippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing