We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dogs to go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of P B's Takeout

P B's Takeout
Ranked #140 of 656 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dogs to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I've had two friends over helping with some fencing and it was lunch time.
I asked my wife to grab some lunch for the four of us. What a great surprise when she returned with hot dogs all the way with some good sweet tea. Gave us what we needed to finish the job!
It was quick and oh so good

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Burgers & Hotdogs in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

They make best juicy burgers, and awesome hotdogs. For those who knows me, I'm not crazy about hotdogs... It's so so good! The space is pretty small so when it gets crowded, it is crowded! Worth it? YES!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megsgarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No One Does a Hot Dog Like a Hot Dog Stand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

When it comes to hot dog's, P.B.'s Takeout is a specialty restaurant. They don't try to be all things to all people. What they offer is the best hot dog anywhere. From the toasted bun, juicy dog and good choices of toppings, if there's a better hot dog somewhere, I sure haven't found it. They also offer grilled cheese, burgers and french fries. I'm a self-confessed purist, so I like my fries without being smothered in cheese and chili but I hear they're good that way. The service is friendly and fast (don't blame the kitchen if the line is out the door) AND something you don't find very often ... free refills on tea; half-price refills on everything else. If you're visiting the South from some other part of the country, grab a fried pie for dessert for a special treat. A word about atmosphere: the place is clean and very small. There's a counter that faces the big windows on three sides with the kitchen taking up the fourth side, plus big picnic tables outside. PB's is about half-way between our two major hospitals on Hawthorne Road (Wake Forest/Baptist Hospital at one end and Forsyth/Novant Hospital at the other) and surrounded by medical offices. I find no irony in this ... you'll see lots of folks in scrubs and one or two EMT teams in line if you hit PB's at lunchtime. Hours: Mon-Fri 11am - 8pm; Sat 11am - 5pm; closed on Sundays. Cash only; ATM down the street! My fav hot dog (mustard, coleslaw, and chili), including tax is all of $2.35 ... enjoy!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hot Dogs in Winston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is your typical local hole-in-the-wall hot dog joint! Crisp buttered buns, delicious chili....best hot dog in Winston. They also have great burgers and wings. They typically have a line out the door at lunch. Cash only. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ahobbs04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best dogs in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Do expect fancy tables or sides this is a hotdog place. Get it "all the way" an you won't be disappointed. Prices are great as well. Sit outside on the picnic table when the weather is good. If you enjoy a food dog, this is the only place to go in Winston-Salem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P B's Takeout also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to P B's Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing