We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot dogs!”

Kermit's Hot Dog House
Ranked #59 of 663 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Triad, NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hot dogs!”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Everyone in town knows about Kermits hot dogs and how great they are and have been for many, many years. Toasted buns and homemade slaw and chili. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank smiley6337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Hot Dog any where!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Kermits has been a southern icon for years, opened in 1966. You can and we do order the hot dogs with pimento cheese. We take everyone here for the hot dogs. I have never ordered anything else but the Special with Cheese which comes with the foot long hot dog with mustard, onions, homemade slaw and locally made B & J chili, fries and a drink. The buns are toasted. Their hotdogs are cooked by heating them, not boiling them, in water. People have told me they have the best hamburgers and breakfast but I cannot make myself order anything but the hot dog all the way with the pimento cheese as it is soooo good. Kermit's is open Monday-Saturday from 5:00am to 10:00pm and they are closed on Sunday. They only accept Cash. Also, they close for family vacations and holidays. It is located in an old drive in type building and in a pretty shady part of town but once you are there you will see people from every walk of life as this place takes you back to the 50's. Bathrooms are clean and the wait staff exceptional with southern charm

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kermit`s Hot Dog House is the best!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Kermit`s Hot Dog House is a LANDMARK in Winston-Salem!!! Very cool retro design and they even have famous Curb-Service!!! We love their Foot Long Hots Dogs all the way!! Their Breakfast in the Morning is also super! They even have Homemade ice Cream too. Take the camera with you!! You`ll love to get some cool pics of this place. Very nice and sweet folks here too!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersonretro1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hot dog that I ever ate!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Get The Works with pimento cheese. It is the best hot dog that I have ever eaten!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitzgeralds2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kermit would be proud!”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Kermit's Hot Dog House is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The cheese dogs are to die for!! Most of the people are friendly but ALL of the food is good. I wish I could eat there every day, but I live too far away out of town. The only downside of Kermit's is the bathrooms. They are a little dirty, but an old restaurant like this one is hard to maintain! If you're looking for an awesome place to grab one of the best hot dogs ever, then this is the place for you!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank southp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kermit's Hot Dog House also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Kermit's Hot Dog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing