We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large menu selection with something for everyone”

Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub
Ranked #32 of 665 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Large menu selection with something for everyone”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were in town for a statewide cionference and stayed at the Marriott downtown. For our office group dinner we wanted something close to our hotel so no one had to worry about driving if they decided to drink. They have a nice outdoor area where they were able to accomodate our group of 14 without a problem. We did not feel crowded or neglected although there were many other diners in the outdoor area that night.

Alcohol Drinkers beware. The only complaints I heard were the drinks were more expensive than some meals. However I did not find them to be any higher than other restaurants.

It was very relaxed. The few smokers were also happy. The menu was varied and had some tried and true items as well as Irish items. Prices were reasopnable and average for this type restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank debrakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    61
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“And Goldiocks Said”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Another couple joined us for the Bethabara Highland Games in Winston Salem this past weekend. While there were other food vendors at the games, the folks from Finnigan's have been able to cater to this offsite location and annually please festival attendees. Our friends were amazed to find a vendor with a vegetarian Shepherd's Pie on the menu. It was an excellent choice for all. Their Shepherd's Pie was robust and hearty. With the sound of bagpipes to go along with our meal, everything was just right!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was an overcast Monday in Winston, two particularly picky customers were in town for a business meeting. We ran out to grab lunch at Sweet Potato's restaurant( which is yummy, btw)!
Another website told us yes they were open on Mondays. When we arrived, no such luck...they were closed.

We walked around the area and passed Finnigans and decided it was too early for greasy lunch at an Irish pub, so we walked to 6th and Vine...alas, it was closed, too.

We were approaching starving and threw towel of surrender in as we opened Finnigans Wakes door. Thank goodness we did! Our waitress had a cool aloofness but was super professional as she told us they served Crankies coffee, after one sip your not cranky anymore, so we all had mugs of Crankies to start---good choice, delicious coffee!

Menu was a surprise from the start, they had vegan options---even for the shepherds pie!! I had the Summer Harvest Salad ( a must is the citrus vinaigrette) and it was sooo good!! My two customers were delighted with their choices and decided they'd be back again! Sweet potato fries were crisp and served with divine honey mustard !

Will be back again and thanks for being open on a Monday!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pescado96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Great Pub Food!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love this Irish Pub! It's fun to sit outside in front in warm weather during the street festival and we also enjoy sitting out back for brunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been to Finnigan's a number of times with friends, as a couple and with our kids. Great experience every time. The food is wonderful; never had anything that was bad. The service is excellent and it's a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Finnigan's Wake Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing