We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Szechuan Palace

Szechuan Palace
Ranked #57 of 661 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Best Chinese food in Winston-Salem. We eat here about once a week and the food never disappoints. We can recommend to all who enjoy fresh,well prepared food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
High Point
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I love Szechuan chicken and this place makes it just right. I love their special green hot sauce. My wife and I have been there several times and we have not been disappointed. I like the older waiter that says he makes all of the dishes. If something is bad it was made by his brother. The staff are very friendly and the prices are reasonable. If you like good Chinese food you should try this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b_arnold1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
376 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I ordered hunan chicken and shrimp. The shrimp was too sweet. It was supposed to be spicy food but was kind of mild. The chicken part was pretty good. I had steamed rice with it. I thought it was a little overpriced and they did not give you enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreaplace49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Exterior was a little sketchy, but once inside its clean.

The food was good as well as the service.

You can get the "Americanized Chinese" or request a more authentic Indo Chinese menu.

My Indian friend said this place was a "home run" and look forward to visiting this place again next time we are in Winston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnkim575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family frequents Szechuan Palace and we do not go to any other Chinese restaurants in town. They are consistently good with the quality of ingredients and flavors. They have a Sunday buffet that is good, with a nice variety of items. The Scallion Chicken is better when ordered from the menu as an entree than on the buffet, but for buffet food, it is good. Service can be a bit iffy depending on which server you get, and that is all that keeps this from getting an "excellent" rating. Never had any issues with anything being bad or any quality issues. Great for families or couples. There are some sauces that they have that are great, like the cilantro dip and there's a red chili sauce too. I think they are the owner's mother's recipes. Ask for a sample.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeVee670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Palace also viewed

Winston Salem, NC
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Szechuan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing