We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Carriage House Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 664 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
Description: We are a family owned and operated restaurant. We have served Friends and Families since 1969. We are located near the Hanes Mall on Stratford Rd. Next to Jackson's Music and across the street from Flow Motors.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family owned and operated restaurant. We have served Friends and Families since 1969. We are located near the Hanes Mall on Stratford Rd. Next to Jackson's Music and across the street from Flow Motors.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good food at great prices. Pleasant atmosphere. A favorite of the locals, particularly the early dining crowd. Food is delicious and servings are plentiful. Attentive staff knows the customers well.

Helpful?
Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A legacy in Winston-Salem”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Always good, very consistent, in the same family for generations --- a friendly place, but not fancy. Get the relish tray and cheese spread --- even though you must pay for it now, it's part of the legacy. So refreshing to see the owner greeting guests on a first name basis - love it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places to have lunch, especially with my family. The food and service are both fantastic, and we have never been disappointed. Definitely a true locals favorite!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollidayE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gstabo, Owner at Carriage House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
HollidayE

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We appreciate you taking the time to rate our business. Hope to see you again soon!

Again, Thanks for your kind words.

George Stabolitis
Carriage House
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went here because we had been once before a couple years ago and loved it, but it was not as good this time. My sister's food was cold when it came out and the portions did not seem to match the price. I don't think we'll be going back. However, the service was great, the waitress was nice and the manager even came around to check on everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gstabo, Owner at Carriage House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Mary W
Thanks so much for your review. It is unacceptable that any meal comes to the table cold. I wish you or your sister would have let us know about this issue when it occurred to give us a chance to correct it and make things right. I try to visit each table in order to make sure things are right and have trained staff to correct mistakes as quick as possible. Unfortunately, we do make mistakes.

You also mention the portion size of your meal was not adequate for the price you paid. Without knowing what you ordered it is hard for us to correct. Finding the balance of correct menu pricing/portions is a key to a successful restaurant. Please email me at chouserest@hotmail.com to provide more detail about this part of the review. I would really appreciate your feedback in more detail on this issue. We definitely want people to leave fully satisfied with all aspects of their dining experience - especially value.

I know you traveled a long way from Kannapolis to eat with us. I am sorry you were not satisfied with your meal. I would love for you to try us again and give us another chance to make things as good as your first visit.

Thanks again as your review will help us become better,

George Stabolitis
Carriage House
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Once a Definite Go To Often, now a Seldom Think About”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Food was once a wonderful experience, especially for the geritol crowd, but now has decayed to be an overpriced night out for the quantity and value of their food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tarheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gstabo, Owner at Carriage House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I am sorry to see you have been disappointed by your experience with our restaurant. We continually strive to buy and serve the best products possible. As you know food cost has been on the rise the last few years and we do everything we can to give a fair price for our menu items based on those cost.

We also try to give ample servings sizes for our entrees. We also offer a smaller appetite menu for our diners for a few of those entrees. I would love to know which entree you purchased that you felt was over priced and not adequate enough to fill your appetite. This will allow us to evaluate that entree and make sure we make adjustments as necessary.

We do have an older crowd that regular dines with us and enjoys our product. But we also cater to generations of families that have eaten with us since 1969. We have watched many kids become college students and now bring their own families to dine with us regularly. We hope you will try us again. My email is chouserest@hotmail.com. Any more feedback you can provide will be valuable to continue our tradition of feeding families for more generations to come.

George Stabolitis
Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carriage House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing